Skip to main content
Find a Lawyer
Please enter a legal issue and/or a location
Begin typing to search, use arrow keys to navigate, use enter to select

Utah Disorderly Conduct Laws

The definition of disorderly conduct varies from state to state, but each statute generally makes it a crime to disturb the peace. These laws tend to act as catchall crimes designed to prevent obnoxious or unruly behavior in public. Utah's disorderly conduct law makes it illegal to fight, block traffic, or make too much noise in a public place. The following chart outlines Utah's disorderly conduct law.

Code Section

Utah Criminal Code section 76-9-102: Disorderly Conduct

What's Prohibited?

Refusing to disburse from a public place when told to do so by a law enforcement officer

Knowingly creating a hazardous or physically offensive condition by any act that doesn't serve a legitimate purpose, or

Engaging in any of the following activities while intending to cause public inconvenience, annoyance, alarm, or recklessly causing a risk thereof:

  • Engaging in fighting, or violent, tumultuous, or threatening behavior
  • Making unreasonable noise in a public place
  • Making unreasonable noise in a private place which can be heard in a public place, or
  • Obstructing vehicular or pedestrian traffic

What Qualifies as a "Public Place?"


Any place that the public (or a substantial group of the public) has access to. This includes streets, highways, and the common areas of schools, hospitals, apartment buildings, office buildings, transport facilities, and shops.


Class C misdemeanor if the offense continues after a request by a person to stop. Otherwise it is an infraction.

Class C misdemeanors are punishable by a fine of up to $750, and/or imprisonment for up to 90 days.

Related Laws

Utah's criminal code also has a couple of laws that are closely related to the crime of disorderly conduct, namely riot and failure to disperse.

Riot: The crime of rioting can be committed in three different ways:

  1. Engaging in tumultuous or violence conduct (and knowingly or recklessly creating a substantial risk of causing public alarm) with two or more other people
  2. Assembling with two or more people with the purpose of engaging in tumultuous or violence conduct (while knowing that two or more other people in the assembly have the same purpose), or
  3. Assembling with two or more people with the purpose of committing an offense against a person or another's property who you suspect of violating a law (while believing that two or more other people in the assembly have the same purpose)

If anyone suffers bodily injury, there is substantial property damage, arson occurs during the riot, or the offender was armed with a dangerous weapon, then the crime is a third degree felony. Otherwise rioting is a class B misdemeanor.

Failure to Disperse: In Utah it is a crime to remain at the scene of a riot, disorderly conduct, or an unlawful assembly after a peace officer orders you to disperse. Failure to disperse is a class C misdemeanor.

Additional Resources

State laws change frequently. If you're facing charges for disorderly conduct, you should consult with a local criminal defense lawyer.

Was this helpful?

You Don’t Have To Solve This on Your Own – Get a Lawyer’s Help

Meeting with a lawyer can help you understand your options and how to best protect your rights. Visit our attorney directory to find a lawyer near you who can help.

Or contact an attorney near you:

Next Steps: Search for a Local Attorney

Contact a qualified attorney.

Begin typing to search, use arrow keys to navigate, use enter to select

Can I Solve This on My Own or Do I Need an Attorney?

  • Complex criminal defense situations usually require a lawyer
  • Defense attorneys can help protect your rights
  • A lawyer can seek to reduce or eliminate criminal penalties

Get tailored advice and ask your legal questions. Many Utah attorneys offer free consultations.


 If you need an attorney, find one right now.

Copied to clipboard

Find a Lawyer

More Options