Utah Insurance Fraud Laws
Created by FindLaw's team of legal writers and editors | Last reviewed June 20, 2016
This article has been written and reviewed for legal accuracy, clarity, and style by FindLaw’s team of legal writers and attorneys and in accordance with our editorial standards.
The last updated date refers to the last time this article was reviewed by FindLaw or one of our contributing authors. We make every effort to keep our articles updated. For information regarding a specific legal issue affecting you, please contact an attorney in your area.
The state of Utah specifically outlaws insurance fraud. In the Beehive State, it is a crime to intentionally provide false, incomplete, or misleading information for the purpose of obtaining insurance benefits. The state also outlaws workers' compensation insurance fraud and makes it a crime to intentionally make a false or fraudulent statement or omit material information in order to obtain workers compensation benefits. The following is a quick summary of Utah insurance fraud laws.
Utah Insurance Fraud Laws:
The following table outlines insurance fraud laws in Utah.
UTAH CODE §§ 76-6-521, 31A-31-103, and 32A-2-110
|What is Prohibited?||
Insurance fraud :
Consists of performing any of the following intentional acts:
Service providers such as doctors can also commit insurance fraud if they intentionally perform any of the following acts:
Insurers also commit insurance fraud if they intentionally withhold information or provide false or misleading information regarding an application, coverage, benefits, or claims.
Workers' compensation insurance fraud :
Knowingly or recklessly making a false or fraudulent statement, promise, or omission of material information in order to do any of the following:
Intentionally providing false, incomplete, or misleading information material to an insurance application is a class B misdemeanor punishable by up to 6 months in prison and up to $1,000 in fines.
Intentionally or recklessly devising a scheme or device to obtain professional service fees or anything of value through false or fraudulent pretenses, representations, promises, or material omissions is:
The perpetrator is also subject to restitution and other costs such as attorney's fees. The court may also order a civil penalty up to 3 times the value of that which was sought or received from the insurance fraud. A service provider who commits insurance fraud can also have their license suspended or revoked.
Workers compensation fraud is a class A misdemeanor if the value of the benefits sought or obtained is less than $1,000 or the number of employees deprived of benefits is less than 5. It is a third-degree felony if benefits sought or obtained is $1,000 or more, but less than $5,000 or
|Defenses||The insurer or service provider had no knowledge of the insurance fraud and the fraudulent act was committed by an employee who was acting without authority.|
|How do I File a Complaint Against a Utah Insurance Company?||
If you're having problems with an insurance company or agent, a complaint may be filed with the Utah Insurance Department.
Utah Insurance Fraud Law: Related Resources
Insurance fraud laws can sometimes be confusing. If you have been charged with insurance fraud, you may want to consult an experienced Utah criminal defense attorney for questions about your specific situation. You can also visit Findlaw's section on insurance fraud for more information on this topic.
You Don’t Have To Solve This on Your Own – Get a Lawyer’s Help
Meeting with a lawyer can help you understand your options and how to best protect your rights. Visit our attorney directory to find a lawyer near you who can help.
Next Steps: Search for a Local Attorney
Contact a qualified attorney.