Vermont law dictates that any individual under the age of 18 years old is considered a minor. Under Vermont law, a minor is not capable of giving informed consent under many circumstances. However, once someone has reached the age of majority, they are legally recognized as an adult. When someone has reached the age of majority, they take on all the rights and responsibilities of an adult. In Vermont, the age of majority is 18.
Continue reading for a breakdown of laws in Vermont related to what is referred to as "legal age."
Laws Related to Age in Vermont
The table below highlights some of the main provisions of Vermont's legal age laws. See FindLaw's "Emancipation of Minors" and "Parental Liability Basics" for related information.
|Age of Majority
- Under 1§173, the age of majority is 18.
|Eligibility for Emancipation
- Under §7151, minors become eligible for emancipation once they have reached the age of 16.
- Under the same statute, minors seeking emancipation must have been living apart from their parents or guardian for at least three months.
- To be eligible, minors must be responsible enough to live on their own and understand their rights as an adult.
- They must also manage their own financial affairs.
- Minors seeking emancipation must be earning passing grades in a court-approved education program and earning a high school diploma or the equivalent of one.
- It must also be apparent that emancipation will serve the minor's best interest.
|Contracts by Minors
- Under §3470, minors may take out mortgage loans if they are married.
- Under §3710, minors that are 15 years of age or older may enter into contracts for insurance or annuities.
- Under the common law of the state, a minor may cancel a contract as long as they make full restitution for any property exchanged under the contract or they pay for all services provided under the contract.
|Minors' Ability to Sue
|Minors' Consent to Medical Treatment
- Under 18 V.S.A. § 4226, a minor that is 12 years of age or older may give informed consent for treatments related to sexually transmitted diseases and substance abuse issues.
- Under the same statute, if a minor requires hospitalization for treatment of a sexually transmitted disease or a substance abuse issue, the parents or the guardians must be notified of the hospitalization.
- Under 18 V.S.A. § 8350, a minor may give consent for medical treatments related to mental health issues.
|Purchasing or Consuming Alcohol and Tobacco or Nicotine Products
Note: Vermont laws are constantly changing. Contact a Vermont family law attorney or conduct your own legal research to verify the state law(s) you are researching.
Research the Law:
Consider reviewing the following resources for more information about laws in Vermont, including those related to age:
- At Vermont Code, you'll find links to all laws of the state, including those related to age.
- At Official State Codes, you'll find links to the official online statutes (laws) in all 50 states and the District of Columbia.
Vermont Legal Ages Laws: Related Resources
Consider reviewing the following resources for more information about laws and legal issues related to age:
Need More Help? Contact an Attorney Today
If you're facing a legal issue related to age, you may want to contact a qualified family law attorney near you. Whether you have questions about emancipation or are concerned about whether you are able to consent to a medical treatment as a result of your age, a family law attorney can assist you with handling such a legal issue.