Skip to main content
Find a Lawyer
Please enter a legal issue and/or a location
Begin typing to search, use arrow keys to navigate, use enter to select

Vermont Wage and Hour Laws

Putting in a 40-hour work week takes its toll. Working more than that deserves proper compensation. Vermont wage and hour laws make sure that employers within the Green Mountain State follow minimum wage and overtime rates so that employees receive proper payment and protection during their employment. This is a quick summary of the wage and hour laws in Vermont.

Acceptable Pay Rates Under Vermont Wage and Hour Laws

On January 1, 2018, Vermont's minimum wage increased to $10.50 per hour. However, if the minimum wage rate established by the U.S. Government is greater than the rate established by Vermont for any year, the Vermont minimum wage rate will be the rate established by the U.S. Government.

The following table outlines the specifics of Vermont wage and hour laws.

Code Section

21 V.S.A. §384: Employment; Wages

Minimum Wage

Under Vermont minimum wage laws, an employer shall not employ an employee at a rate of less than $10.50 per hour. 

Overtime Pay

According to Vermont hour laws, an employer must pay an employee a minimum of one and one-half times the regular wage rate for any work done by the employee in excess of 40 hours during a workweek. However, the following industries are exempt from this rule.

  • Retail or service establishments;

  • Hotels, motels or restaurants;

  • State and political subdivisions of the state;

  • Certain amusement or recreational establishments; and

  • Certain employees engaged in transportation.


Any employer who pays, permits to be paid, or agrees to pay any employee less than the minimum wage dictated by Vermont wage and hour laws will be fined up to $100.00 for each day the employee is paid less than the rate required.

Civil Actions

If any employee is paid by an employer less than the minimum wage rate, the employee can recover twice the amount of the minimum wage less any amount actually paid by the employer, plus any costs and reasonable attorney fees.

Note: State laws are always subject to change through the passage of new legislation, rulings in the higher courts (including federal decisions), ballot initiatives, and other means. While we strive to provide the most current information available, please consult an attorney or conduct your own legal research to verify the state law(s) you are researching.

Need Legal Help Dealing with Your Employer? Contact an Attorney Today

Fully understanding your rights under the Vermont wage and hour laws can be difficult. If you would like legal assistance with an employment issue, including any wage and hour disputes you may have with your employer, there are employment law attorneys in your area who can help.

Was this helpful?

You Don’t Have To Solve This on Your Own – Get a Lawyer’s Help

Meeting with a lawyer can help you understand your options and how to best protect your rights. Visit our attorney directory to find a lawyer near you who can help.

Or contact an attorney near you:

Next Steps: Search for a Local Attorney

Contact a qualified attorney.

Begin typing to search, use arrow keys to navigate, use enter to select
Copied to clipboard

Find a Lawyer

More Options