Skip to main content
Please enter a legal issue and/or a location
Begin typing to search, use arrow keys to navigate, use enter to select

Wyoming Leases and Rental Agreements Laws

How landlords and tenants interact with each other is largely regulated at the state level, through lease and rental agreement laws. Typically, these laws place limits on how much of a security deposit a landlord may require and which types of discrimination are prohibited. Most aspects of the leasing relationship are regulated by these statutes. For instance, Wyoming lease and rental agreement laws require security deposits to be returned within 30 days of termination of the lease.

See the following summary chart and elaboration below it to learn more about Wyoming's lease and rental agreement laws. See FindLaw's Rental and Lease Agreements section for additional articles and resources.

Code Section 6-9-102; 34-2-128, 129; 1-21-1207, 1208
Terms of Leases Accepting rent on holdover does not imply renewal, constitutes only tenancy by sufferance
Deposits No limit on deposit; deposit must be returned within 30 days of termination
Discrimination No discrimination based on race, color, sex, creed, or national origin
Uniform Residential Landlord & Tenant Act Adopted? No

Illegal Discrimination under Federal Law

The Federal Fair Housing Act places restrictions on the qualities landlords and home sellers can use when deciding who to place in a residence. No one can do any off the following based on race, national origin, religion, sex, familial status, or disability:

  • Refuse to rent a house or apartment
  • Refuse to sell a house or apartment
  • Refuse to negotiate for housing
  • Make housing unavailable
  • Make different conditions for sale or rental
  • Provide different types of services for housing or rentals
  • Falsely deny that a house or apartment is available
  • Persuade owners to sell or rent a house
  • Deny services or membership in a facility or service

This means that a landlord cannot charge more rent for an apartment to a person who needs the apartment to be handicap accessible. As well, a home seller cannot refuse to sell a home to a large family in a community that may not want children playing in the neighborhood. Landlords also cannot refuse to rent an apartment to a couple because they are unmarried.

Illegal Discrimination under Wyoming Law

Wyoming also makes it illegal to discriminate in the same ways that the federal Fair Housing Act forbids. Some additional methods of improper discrimination include: refusals to make reasonable accommodations to dwellings in order to improve access for someone with a disability, and refusals to make changes in rules and policies in order to allow better accessibility for a disabled person.

If you would like to know more about your rights and obligations when renting, there are many Wyoming landlord-tenant attorneys who may be able to help. In addition to answering your questions about landlord-tenant law, they may be able to help you recover improperly held deposits, or enforce discrimination laws.

Was this helpful?

Thank you. Your response has been sent.

You Don’t Have To Solve This on Your Own – Get a Lawyer’s Help

Meeting with a lawyer can help you understand your options and how to best protect your rights. Visit our attorney directory to find a lawyer near you who can help.

Or contact an attorney near you:

Next Steps: Search for a Local Attorney

Contact a qualified attorney.

Begin typing to search, use arrow keys to navigate, use enter to select
Copied to clipboard

Find a Lawyer

More Options