Whether weaving through city streets in Little Rock or rushing along a public highway, you must follow state laws. Unfortunately, driving is a complex activity. You might find yourself with a traffic ticket one day.
Protect your driving privileges in the state of Arkansas. Learn about the unique traffic rules and penalties that can affect your license.
Driving Laws in Arkansas
Title 27 of the Arkansas Code sets the rules for transportation and motor vehicles in the state. Find links to Arkansas traffic laws and driving rules in the chart below.
|Drinking & Driving Violations
||Driving While Intoxicated (AR Code Title 5, Ch. 65)
|Driving Without a License / With a Suspended License
||Driver's license required (AR Code § 27-16-602)
|Driving Without Insurance / With Insufficient Insurance
||Proof to be furnished for each vehicle (AR Code § 27-19-711)
|Driving Without Registration / With Expired Registration
||Registration requirements -- Exception (AR Code § 27-14-701)
||Turning on curve or crest of grade prohibited (AR Code § 27-51-402)
|Leaving the Scene of an Accident / Hit & Run
||Accidents (AR Code Title 27, Subtitle 4, Ch. 53)
||Lighting Regulations (AR Code § 27-36-101 to 27-36-224)Equipment Regulations (AR Code § 27-37-101 to 27-37-803)
||Reckless driving (AR Code § 27-50-308)
|Running a Red Light / Stop Sign
||Traffic-Control Devices (AR Code Title 27, Subtitle 4, Ch. 52)
|Seat Belt / Child Restraint Violations
||Seat belt use required (AR Code § 27-37-702)Child Passenger Protection (AR Code Title 27, Subtitle 3, Ch. 34)
||Speed Limits (AR Code § 27-51-201 to 27-51-217)
|Traffic Misdemeanor Penalties
||Misdemeanors (AR Code § 27-50-304)
|Unlawful Vehicle Modifications
||Size and Load Regulations (AR Code Title 27, Subtitle 3, Ch. 35)Equipment Regulations (AR Code Title 27, Subtitle 3, Ch. 37)
The Arkansas Administrative Point System
Traffic violation tickets have specific point values in Arkansas, such as:
- Three points for speeding up to 10 mph above the speed limit
- Three points for improper lane changes
- Three points for running a red light at an intersection
- Eight points for reckless driving
- Eight points for racing or speeding over 31 mph above the speed limit
- Eight points for a hit-and-run car accident
If your ticket penalties total 14 or more points on your driving record within three years, the Office of Driver Services will require you to attend a hearing. The outcome of this hearing can vary. You could face license suspension or driving restrictions.
Serious traffic offenses can even risk your driving privileges without any prior tickets. For example, a first-time DWI can lead to a six-month license suspension, plus fines and up to one year in jail.
Impeding Traffic Laws in Arkansas
Getting stuck behind slow vehicles can be frustrating. One or two cars could block everyone behind them. Arkansas sets minimum speed limits and requires reasonable speed to maximize efficient travel.
Arkansas laws also generally require all vehicles to drive in the right lane, saving the left lane for passing (AR Code § 27-51-301). Once you pass on the left, you must move over to the right lane safely again.
If a vehicle in the left lane is excessively slow, don't follow too closely behind them to send a message. Driving too close to the car ahead could risk a collision and give a police officer reason to pull you over.
Driver Services in Arkansas
You can access a variety of driving-related online services through the MyDMV Arkansas website, such as:
- Arkansas driver's license applications
- Vehicle transactions
- Vehicle registration and renewal
- Driver's records requests
The Arkansas Department of Finance and Administration (DFA) oversees driver's licenses and vehicle registration. Along with law enforcement and Arkansas traffic courts, the DFA plays a significant role in traffic safety throughout the state.
Find an Arkansas Traffic Lawyer
Get legal advice for your traffic ticket, especially if you face a serious offense like a DWI. Fighting the ticket can be a strategic move when large fines or license penalties are at stake. A local attorney can help you understand your options.