Driving in Illinois can be challenging, especially in busy areas like Chicago. You'll have to make quick decisions to prevent car accidents and traffic tickets.
In high-stakes moments, you must still follow state and local traffic laws. Learn more about the rules of the road to drive safely in the state of Illinois.
The Illinois Vehicle Code
Driving laws appear in Chapter 625 of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS). Read statutes for featured traffic law topics in the chart below.
Illinois Traffic Offenses
Some of the common traffic violations in Illinois include:
- Speeding 25 miles per hour or less above the speed limit (petty offense)
- Speeding 26 miles per hour or more above the speed limit (Class B misdemeanor)
- Driving under the influence (DUI) (Class A misdemeanor or felony)
- Using a cell phone while driving (petty offense)
- Running a red light (petty offense, including tickets from red light cameras)
Different factors could lead to higher charges and penalties. For example, causing a collision while distracted with your phone can lead to higher fines. Serious offenses, such as testing positive for alcohol use, can lead to an immediate arrest and license suspension.
The Illinois Driver's License Point System
Most states that use a point system for traffic violations assign only a few points for most tickets. Drivers in those states typically lose their driving privileges once they reach around 10 to 20 points.
However, the point system in Illinois uses a much larger scale than many other states. The point values range from five points per offense, such as speeding up to 10 mph above the limit, to 55 points per offense for something like reckless driving.
With this wide range, you might guess that minor tickets aren't likely to jeopardize your license, but Illinois will review your driving record once you get three violations within one year. If you are at least 21 years old, you can face a license suspension for two months with as few as 15 points on your record.
Multiple point tiers determine how long suspension lasts. For example, if you have 100 points, you could receive a license suspension for one year. With 110 points or more, you may face license revocation.
Evaluate Your Case With a Traffic Lawyer
The penalties of a traffic case could involve expensive fines, loss of your license, and more. Call an Illinois traffic law attorney after getting a ticket or criminal traffic charges. They can help review your defense options.