Skip to main content

Are you a legal professional? Visit our professional site

Please enter a legal issue and/or a location
Begin typing to search, use arrow keys to navigate, use enter to select

Reckless Driving Laws by State

Reckless driving is driving with a willful or wanton disregard for safety, or showing willful disregard of consequences when operating a vehicle. When you are cited for this traffic offense, it is because you may have disregarded the rules of the road and may or may not have caused an accident or property damage. But as a threshold issue, you normally have to do something more than mere negligence in the operation of a vehicle to be cited for reckless driving.

Reckless Driving: Basics of the Offense

Most states have laws addressing willfully dangerous driving. In some states, the violation is called "reckless driving," while other states may use the terms "careless driving" or "dangerous driving" to describe the same violation. Reckless driving is one of the most serious traffic offenses and is typically charged as a misdemeanor (as opposed to an infraction). A conviction can result in penalties ranging from heavy fines to incarceration in certain cases, depending on state laws.

In some states, certain acts are automatically considered reckless, such as:

  • Driving 25 miles per hour (or more) over the posted speed limit
  • Racing another vehicle
  • Trying to elude a police officer
  • On a two-lane highway, passing another vehicle when visibility of oncoming traffic is limited

Reckless Driving: State Laws

STATE CODE SECTION DEFINITION PENALTY CLASSIFICATION
Alabama  Reckless driving

(AL Code Sec. 32-5A-190)

A person who drives any vehicle carelessly and in wanton disregard for the rights/safety of persons or property, or without due caution and at a speed or in a manner that would endanger any person or property
  • First conviction: Imprisonment for a period between 5 and 90 days and/or a fine not less than $25 but not more than $500
  • Second or more convictions: Imprisonment of no less than 10 days but no more than 6 months, and/or a fine of no less than $50 but no more than $500. The court can prohibit the person from driving a motor vehicle on the public highways for a period not exceeding 6 months, and the person's license may be suspended for said time.
Misdemeanor
Alaska  Reckless driving

(AK ST Sec. 28.35.400)

A person who drives a motor vehicle in a manner that creates a substantial and unjustifiable risk of harm to a person or property Punishable by a fine of not more than $1,000 and/or by imprisonment for not more than one year Misdemeanor
Arizona  Reckless driving

(ARS 28-693)

A person who drives a vehicle in reckless disregard for the safety of persons or property The judge may require the surrender of a convicted person's driver's license for a period of no more than 90 days and a suspension of their driving privileges. If the convicted person had a previous violation of reckless driving within a period of 2 years, then reckless driving will be considered a Class 1 Misdemeanor, and the person will not be eligible for probation or release from jail until they have served no less than 20 days in jail. Class 2 Misdemeanor.If previous conviction, Class 1 Misdemeanor.
Arkansas  Reckless driving

(AR Code 27-50-308)

Any person who drives any vehicle in such a manner as to indicate a wanton disregard for the safety of persons or property
  • First conviction: Imprisonment of between 5 and 90 days and/or a fine of between $25 and $500
  • First conviction if physical injury to a person results: Imprisonment of between 30 days and 90 days and/or by a fine of between $100 and $1,000
  • Second conviction within 3 years from first conviction: Imprisonment of between 30 days and 6 months, and/or by a fine of between $500 and $1,000.
  • Second conviction if physical injury to a person results: Imprisonment of between 60 days and 1 year, or by a fine of between $500 and $1.000, or both
Misdemeanor
California

Reckless driving (California Vehicle Code Section 23103)

Reckless driving: Bodily injury (California Vehicle Code Section 23104)

A person who drives a vehicle upon a highway in willful or wanton disregard for the safety of persons or property
  • Conviction without bodily harm: Imprisonment in county jail of between 5 and 90 days, and/or a fine of between $145 and $1,000
  • The conviction with bodily injury: Imprisonment of between 30 days and 6 months, and/or a fine of between $220 and $1,000
Misdemeanor
Colorado  Reckless driving

(CRS 42-4-1401)

A person who drives a motor vehicle, bicycle, electrical assisted bicycle, electric scooter, or low-power scooter in such a manner as to indicate either a wanton or a willful disregard for the safety of persons or property
  • First motor vehicle offense: Between 10-90 days in jail and/or up-to $300 in fines
  • Multiple convictions: If convicted a second time, a fine of between $50 and $1,000, and/or jail time between 10 days and 6 months
Class 2 Misdemeanor Traffic Offense
Connecticut  Reckless driving

(GSC section 14-222)

No person shall operate any motor vehicle on a highway, road, or parking area of 10 cars or more, at such a rate of speed as to endanger the life of any person other than the operator of such vehicle, or at a rate of speed greater than 85 miles an hour
  • First Conviction: Imprisonment of no more than 30 days, and/or a fine of between $100 and $300
  • Second or subsequent conviction: Fine of no more than $600, and/or imprisonment of no more than one year
Class D Misdemeanor.If previous conviction, Class A Misdemeanor.
Delaware  Reckless driving

(DE Code Title 21 section 4175)

A person who drives any vehicle in willful or wanton disregard for the safety of persons or property
  • First offense: Fine of between $100 and $300, and/or imprisonment of between 10 and 30 days
  • Every subsequent offense within a 3-year term: Fine of between $300 and $1,000 and/or imprisonment of between 30 and 60 days
Misdemeanor
District of Columbia  Speeding and reckless driving

(DC Code section 50-2201.04)

A person who drives a vehicle upon a highway carelessly and heedlessly in willful or wanton disregard for the rights or safety of others, or without due caution and circumspection and at a speed or in a manner so as to endanger or be likely to endanger a person or property
  • First conviction: Incarceration of no more than 90 days, and/or a fine of $500
  • Subsequent convictions within 2 years: Fine of $500 and/or incarcerated for no more than 180 days
Misdemeanor
Florida  Reckless driving

(FS 316.192)

  • Any person who drives any vehicle in willful or wanton disregard for the safety of persons or property
  • Fleeing a law enforcement officer in a motor vehicle is reckless driving per se
  • First Conviction: Imprisonment for a period of no more than 90 days, and/or a fine of between $25 and $500
  • Second Conviction: Imprisonment of no more than 6 months, and/or by a fine of between $50 and $1,000
  • If damage to the property or person of another occurs: Imprisonment of no more than 1 year
  • If a serious bodily injury occurs: Imprisonment of no more than 5 years
  • If damage to the property or person of another occurs: Misdemeanor of the first degree
  • If serious bodily injury occurs: Felony of the third degree
Georgia

Reckless driving

(Georgia Code 40-6-390)

Any person who drives any vehicle in reckless disregard for the safety of persons or property Fine of not more than $1,000 and/or imprisonment of no more than 12 months Misdemeanor
Hawaii  Reckless driving of a vehicle

(HRS section 291-2)

Whoever operates any vehicle or rides any animal recklessly in disregard of the safety of persons or property Fine of not more than $1,000.00, and/or imprisonment of no more than 30 days Misdemeanor
Idaho  Reckless driving

(ID Statutes section 49-1401)

Any person who drives or is in actual physical control of any vehicle upon a highway, or upon public or private property open to public use, carelessly and heedlessly or without due caution and circumspection, and at a speed or in a manner as to endanger or be likely to endanger any person or property, or who passes when there is a line in his lane indicating a sight distance restriction
  • First conviction: Imprisonment of no more than 6 months, and/or fine of up to $1,000
  • Subsequent convictions within 5 years from first conviction: Imprisonment of no more than 1 year, or maybe fined no more than $2,000.00, or both. Driver's license or privileges may also be suspended.
  • First Conviction: Misdemeanor
  • Subsequent convictions within 5 years from first conviction: Misdemeanor
Illinois  Driving While Intoxicated...and Reckless Driving

(625 ILCS 5/11-500 to 5/11-505)

When a person drives any vehicle with a willful or wanton disregard for the safety of persons or property; or knowingly drives a vehicle and uses an incline in a roadway, such as a railroad crossing, bridge approach, or hill, to cause the vehicle to become airborne.
  • Reckless driving: Possible sentence of up to one year in jail and a fine of up to $2,500.
  • Aggravated Reckless Driving: Sentence of up to 3 years in prison and/or a fine of up to $25,000.
  • Reckless driving: Class A misdemeanor
  • If violation causes bodily harm to a child or school crossing guard, or if it causes greatly bodily harm: Class 4 Felony.
Indiana  Reckless Driving; Class B Misdemeanor; Damage to Property; Suspension

(Indiana Code 9-21-8-52)

A person who operates a vehicle and who recklessly:
  • drives at such an unreasonably high rate of speed or at such an unreasonably low rate of speed under the circumstances as to endanger the safety or the property of others; or block the proper flow of traffic;
  • Passes another vehicle from the rear while on a slope or on a curve where vision is obstructed for a distance of fewer than 500 feet ahead;
  • Drives in and out of a line of traffic, except as otherwise permitted; or
  • Speeds up or refuses to give one-half ( ½ ) of the roadway to a driver overtaking and desiring to pass.
The court may suspend the person's driving privileges for 90 days, but if the person has committed at least 1 previous offense, for 1 year. Class C misdemeanor but if it causes bodily injury to a person, then Class A misdemeanor.
Iowa  Reckless driving

(IA Code section 321.277)

A person who drives any vehicle in such manner as to indicate either a willful or a wanton disregard for the safety of persons or property is guilty of reckless driving
  • Conviction up to 30 days in jail and/or $25 to $625 in fines
Misdemeanor
Kansas  Reckless driving; penalties

(KS Statutes 8-1566)

Any person who drives any vehicle in willful or wanton disregard for the safety of persons or property.
  • First Conviction: Imprisonment of between 5 and 90 days, or a fine of between $25.00 and $500.00, or both.
  • Subsequent Conviction: Imprisonment of between 10 days and 6 months, or a fine of between $50.00 and $500.00, or both.
Misdemeanor
Kentucky  Operator of vehicle to drive carefully

(KRS 189.290)

The operator of any vehicle upon a highway that does not operate the vehicle in a careful manner, with regard for the safety and convenience of pedestrians and other vehicles upon the highway.
  • First Conviction: Fined at least $20 but no more than $100.
  • Subsequent convictions: Could face up to 6-month license suspension
Traffic Violation
Louisiana  Careless operation

(LRS 32:58)

Any person operating a motor vehicle on the public roads of this state that does not drive in a careful and prudent manner, so as not to endanger the life, limb, or property of any person.
  • First Conviction: Fined of no more than $175.00, or by imprisonment for no more than 30 days, or both.
  • Subsequent Conviction: Fined no more than $500.00, or by imprisonment of no more than 90 days, or both.
Misdemeanor
Maine  Driving to endanger

(MRS Title 29-A section 2413)

A person commits this crime if, with criminal negligence, that person drives a motor vehicle in any place in a manner that endangers the property of another or a person, including the operator or passenger in the motor vehicle being driven. Suspension of driver's license for between 30 and 180 days, or a fine no less than $575.00. Class E crime
Maryland  Reckless and negligent driving

(MD Transp. Code section 21-901.1)

A person who drives a motor vehicle:
  1. In wanton or willful disregard for the safety of persons or property; or
  2. In a manner that indicates a wanton or willful disregard for the safety of persons or property.
Fine not exceeding $1,000.00 Misdemeanor
Massachusetts  Reckless and Unauthorized Driving

(MGL chapter 90 Sec. 24)

  1. A person who operates a motor vehicle recklessly, or operates such a vehicle negligently so that the lives or safety of the public might be endangered.
  2. A person who, without stopping and making known his name, residence, and the register number of his motor vehicle goes away after knowingly colliding with or otherwise causing injury to any other vehicle or property.
  3. A person who loans or knowingly permits his license or learner's permit to operate motor vehicles to be used by any person.
  4. A person who makes false statements in an application for such a license or learner's permit, or whoever knowingly makes any false statement in an application for registration of a motor vehicle.
  • Fine of between $20.00 and $200 or by imprisonment of between 2 weeks and 2 years.
misdemeanor
Michigan  Driving while intoxicated, and reckless driving

(MI Vehicle Code sections 257.625 to 257.626c)

 A person who operates a vehicle upon a highway or a frozen public lake, stream, or pond or other places open to the general public, including, but not limited to, an area designated for the parking of motor vehicles, in willful or wanton disregard for the safety of persons or property
  • If no serious bodily injury results: Imprisonment of not more than 93 days, or a fine of not more than $500.00, or both.
  • If serious bodily injury results: Imprisonment of not more than 5 years, or a fine of between $1,000.00 or $5,000.00, or both.
  • If no serious bodily injury results: Misdemeanor
  • If serious bodily injury results: Felony
Minnesota  Reckless or careless driving

(MN Statute 169.13)

  • Reckless Driving: A person who drives a motor vehicle or light rail transit vehicle while aware of and consciously disregarding a substantial and unjustifiable risk that the driving may result in harm to another or another's property. The risk must be of such a nature and degree that disregard of it constitutes a significant deviation from the standard of conduct that a reasonable person would observe in the situation.
  • Careless Driving: Any person who operates or halts any vehicle upon any street or highway carelessly or heedlessly in disregard of the rights of others, or in a manner that endangers or is likely to endanger any property or any person, including the driver or passengers of the vehicle.
  • Reckless driving: Up to 90 days in jail and/ or 1000 in fines.
  • Reckless driving resulting in serious injuries: Up to 1 year in jail and/ or 3000 in fines
  • Reckless driving without bodily harm; and careless driving: A misdemeanor
  • Reckless driving resulting in bodily harm: Gross misdemeanor
Mississippi  Reckless driving

(MS Code 63-3-1201)

Any person who drives any vehicle in such a manner as to indicate either a willful or a wanton disregard for the safety of persons or property.
  • First conviction: Fine of between $5.00 and $100.00
  • Subsequent convictions: Imprisonment of no more than 10 days or by a fine of no more than $500.00, or both.
Misdemeanor
Missouri  Motorists to exercise the highest degree of care

(MRS 304.012)

Every person operating a motor vehicle on the roads and highways of this state shall drive the vehicle in a careful and prudent manner and at a rate of speed so as not to endanger the property of another or the life or limb of any person and shall exercise the highest degree of care.
  • Reckless driving: Up to 6 months in jail and a maximum fine of $1000.
  • Reckless driving involving an accident: Up to a year in jail and a maximum fine of $2000.
Class B misdemeanor, unless an accident is involved, then it is considered a Class A misdemeanor.
Montana  Reckless driving

(MCA section 61-8-301 and section 61-8-715)

A person who
  1. Operates a vehicle in willful or wanton disregard for the safety of persons or property; or
  2. Operates a vehicle in willful or wanton disregard for the safety of persons or property while passing, in either direction, a school bus that has stopped and is displaying the visual flashing red signal.
  • First conviction: Imprisonment for a term of not more than 90 days, or a fine of between $25.00 and $300.00, or both.
  • Subsequent convictions: Imprisonment for a term of between 10 days and 6 months, or a fine of between $50.00 and $500.00, or both.
  • Reckless driving resulting in death or serious bodily injury: Fine of not more than $10,000.00, or imprisonment for a term not exceeding 1 year, or both.
Misdemeanor
Nebraska  Reckless driving

(R.R.S. Nebr. § 60-6, 213; 60-6,215; 60-6,217 )

Any person who drives any motor vehicle in such a manner as to indicate an indifferent or wanton disregard for the safety of persons or property.
  • Second offense: Cannot drive a motor vehicle for any purpose for a period of not between 60 days and 2 years from the date of the court's order.
  • Third and subsequent offenses: Cannot drive a motor vehicle for any purpose for a period of 1 year from the date of the court's order, and their drivers license will be revoked for a similar period of time.
  • First offense: Class III misdemeanor.
  • Second offense: Class II misdemeanor.
  • Third and subsequent offenses: Class I misdemeanor.
Nevada  Reckless driving

(NRS 484B.653)

When a person
  • Drives a vehicle in willful or wanton disregard of the safety of persons or property on a highway or premises to which the public has access; or
  • Drives a vehicle in an unauthorized speed contest on a highway or premises to which the public has access; or
  • Drives a vehicle in an unauthorized trick-driving display on a public highway.
  • First Offense: A fine of between $250.00 and $1,000.00, or perform between 50 and 99 hours of community service, and maybe punished by imprisonment of not more than 6 months.
  • Second Offense: A fine of between $1,000.00 and $1,050.00, or perform between 100 and 199 hours of community service, and maybe punished by imprisonment of not more than 6 months.
  • Third Offense: A fine of between $1,500.00 and $2,000.00, or perform 200 hours of community service, and maybe punished by imprisonment of not more than 6 months.
Misdemeanor
New Hampshire  Reckless driving; minimum penalty

(NH Statutes 265:79)

A person who drives a vehicle recklessly, or causes a vehicle to be driven recklessly, as defined in RSA 626:2, II(c), or so that the lives or safety of the public shall be endangered, or upon a bet, wager, or race, or who drives a vehicle for the purpose of making a record, or who drives a vehicle at a speed of 100 miles per hour or greater, and thereby violates any of the provisions of this title or any rules adopted by the director.
  • First Offense: Fined at least $500.00 plus penalty assessment and his or her license shall be revoked for a period of 60 days.
  • Second Offense: Fined at least $750.00 plus penalty assessment and his or her license shall be revoked for a period of 60 days to one year.
  • Subsequent Offenses: Fined at least $1,000.00 plus penalty assessment.
- Traffic violation
New Jersey  Reckless driving

(NJ Statutes 39:4-96)

A person who drives a vehicle heedlessly, in willful or wanton disregard of the rights or safety of others, in a manner so as to endanger, or be likely to endanger, a person or property.
  • First Offense: Imprisonment of no more than 60 days, or a fine between $50.00 and $200.00, or both.
  • Second Offense: Imprisonment for not more than 3 months, or a fine between $100.00 and $500.00, or both.
Traffic violation
New Mexico  Reckless driving

(NMS 66-8-113)

 Any person who drives any vehicle carelessly and heedlessly in willful or wanton disregard of the rights or safety of others and without due caution and circumspection and at a speed or in a manner so as to endanger or be likely to endanger any person or property.
  • First Conviction: Imprisonment of between 5 and 90 days, or by a fine of between $25.00 and $100.00, or both.
  • Second and Subsequent Convictions: Imprisonment of between 10 days and 6 months, or by a fine of between $50.00 and $1,000.00, or both.
Misdemeanor
New York  Reckless driving

(NY Vehicle & Traffic Law Section 1212)

Driving or using any motor vehicle, motorcycle, or any other vehicle propelled by any power other than muscular power or any appliance or accessory thereof in a manner which unreasonably interferes with the free and proper use of the public highway, or unreasonably endangers users of the public highway.
  • First offense: up to 30 days in jail and a fine of $100 to $300.
  • Second offense: up to 90 days in jail and a fine of $100 to $525.
  • Third offense: up to 180 days in jail and a fine of $100 to $1,125.
Misdemeanor.
North Carolina  Reckless driving

(NCGS section 20-140)

  • Any person who drives any vehicle upon a highway or any public vehicular area carelessly and heedlessly in willful or wanton disregard of the rights or safety of others.
  • Any person who drives any vehicle upon a highway or any public vehicular area without due caution and circumspection and at a speed or in a manner so as to endanger or be likely to endanger any person or property.
  • First offense: Up to 30 days in jail and/ or a fine up to $1000
  • Subsequent Offense: Up to 60 days in jail and/ or a fine up to $1000
Class 2 misdemeanor.
North Dakota  Reckless driving

(ND Code Chapter 39-08 scroll to 39-08-03)

Any person who drives a vehicle:
  • Recklessly in disregard of the rights or safety of others; or
  • Without due caution and circumspection and at a speed or in a manner so as to endanger or be likely to endanger any person or the property of another.
  • Reckless driving: 8-30 days in jail with a maximum fine of $1000.
  • Aggravated reckless driving: 8days- 1 year in jail with a maximum fine of $2000.
Class B Misdemeanor but if there is injury to a person, then Class A Misdemeanor.
Ohio  Willful or wanton operation on street or highway

(ORC section 4511.20)

When a person operates a vehicle, trackless trolley, or streetcar on any street or highway in willful or wanton disregard of the safety of persons or property.
  • First offense: A maximum fine of $100.
  • If you have a prior conviction: up to 30 days in jail and/ or a maximum fine of $250.
  • First Offense: Minor misdemeanor.
  • Second Offense: Misdemeanor in the fourth degree.
Oklahoma  Reckless driving

(OK Statute 47-11-901)

Any person who drives a motor vehicle in a careless or wanton manner without regard for the safety of persons or property.
  • First Conviction: Imprisonment of between 5 and 90 days, or by a fine of between $100.00 and $500.00, or both.
  • Second Conviction: Imprisonment of between 10 days and 6 months, or by a fine of between $150.00 and $1,000.00, or both.
Misdemeanor.
Oregon  Rules of the Road: Careless and Reckless Driving

(OR Vehicle Code 811.140)

When a person recklessly drives a vehicle upon a highway or other premises described in this section in a manner that endangers the safety of persons or property.
  • Sentence up to 1 year in jail and a maximum fine of $6250
Class A Misdemeanors.
Pennsylvania  Miscellaneous Provisions: Reckless Driving

(PA Vehicle Code Ch. 37; Section 3736)

Any person who drives any vehicle in willful or wanton disregard for the safety of persons or property. Fine of $200.00. Summary offense.
Rhode Island  Reckless driving and other offenses against public safety

(RI Code 31-27-4)

Any person who operates a motor vehicle recklessly so that the lives or safety of the public might be endangered, or operates a vehicle in an attempt to elude or flee from a traffic officer or police vehicle.
  • First Conviction: Fine up to $500 and 6 months in jail
  • Second and subsequent Offenses: Fine up to $1000 and up to 5 years in jail.
  • First Conviction: Misdemeanor.
  • Second Conviction and Subsequent Convictions: Felony.
South Carolina  Reckless driving

(SC Code section 56-5-2920)

Any person who drives any vehicle in such a manner as to indicate either a willful or wanton disregard for the safety of persons or property. Suspension of driver's license for a period of three months; and
  • Fine of between $25.00 and $200.00; or
  • Imprisonment for no more than 30 days.
Misdemeanor
South Dakota  Reckless and Unsafe Driving

(SD Codified Laws Ch. 32-24-1)

Any person who drives any vehicle upon a highway, alley, public park, recreational area, or upon the property of a public or private school, college, or university carelessly and heedlessly in disregard of the rights or safety of others, or without due caution and circumspection and at a speed or in a manner so as to endanger or be likely to endanger any person or property. For a second or subsequent offense within a period of 1 year, the defendant's driving privilege will be revoked for 30 days. Class 1 Misdemeanor.
Tennessee  Reckless driving

(TN Code section 55-10-205)

Any person who drives any vehicle in willful or wanton disregard for the safety of persons or property. Fine of $50.00. Class B Misdemeanor.
Texas  Operation and Movement of Vehicles

(TX Transp. Code Ch. 545.401)

A person who drives a vehicle in willful or wanton disregard for the safety of persons or property.
  • A fine not exceeding $200.00; or
  • Confinement in jail for not more than 30 days; or
  • Both fine and confinement.
  • somewhere between a Class C and a Class B Misdemeanor
Utah  Reckless driving -- Penalty

(UT Code 41-6a-528)

A person who operates a vehicle:
  • In willful or wanton disregard for the safety of persons or property; or
  • While committing three or more moving traffic violations under Title 41, Chapter 6a, Traffic Code, in a series of acts occurring within a single continuous period of driving covering three miles or less in total distance.
  • You could face up to 6 mot=nths in jail and a maximum of $1000 fine.
Class B Misdemeanor.
Vermont  Negligent operation; grossly negligent operation

(23 VSA section 1091)

 A person who operates a motor vehicle on a public highway in a negligent manner.
  • First offense: Imprisonment of not more than 1 year, or a fine of not more than $1,000.00, or both.
  • Subsequent offense: Imprisonment of not more than 2 years, or a fine of not more than $3,000.00, or both.
  • Serious bodily injury or death results: Imprisonment for not more than 2 years, or a fine of not more than $3,000.00, or both.
  • First conviction: Misdemeanor
  • Subsequent convictions: Felony
Virginia  Reckless driving (VA Code 46.2-852)

Reckless driving; penalties (VA Code 46.2-868)

Irrespective of the maximum speeds permitted by law, any person who drives a vehicle on any highway recklessly or at a speed or in a manner so as to endanger the life, limb, or property of any person. Mandatory minimum fine of $250.00. Class 1 Misdemeanor.
Washington  Reckless driving - penalty

(RCW section 46.61.500)

Any person who drives any vehicle in willful or wanton disregard for the safety of persons or property. Imprisonment of up to 364 days and a fine of up to $5,000.00. Gross misdemeanor.
West Virginia  Reckless driving

(WV Code section 17C-5-3)

Any person who drives any vehicle upon any street or highway, or upon any residential street, or in any parking area, or upon the ways of any institution of higher education, or upon any property within the state park and public recreation system in willful or wanton disregard for the safety of persons or property.
  • First Conviction: Imprisonment for in between 5 and 90 days, or fine of between $25.00 and $500.00, or both.
  • Subsequent Conviction or If Serious Bodily Injury Results: Imprisonment of in between 10 days and 6 months, or fined between $50.00 or $1,000.00, or both.
Misdemeanor.
Wisconsin  Reckless driving

(WI Code Chapter 346 Section 346.62)

No person may endanger the safety of any person or property by the negligent operation of a vehicle.
  • First offense: $25 to $200 fine
  • Repeated offenses: $50 to $500 in fines and up to a year in prison
  • Offenses resulting in minor injuries: $300 to $2000 in fines and 30 days- 1 year in prison.
  • Repeated offense leading to great bodily injury: Up to 3.5 years in prison and up to $10,000 in fines.
Criminal offense
Wyoming  Reckless driving

(WY Statutes Title 31, Ch. 5 Section 31-5-229)

Any person who drives any vehicle in willful or wanton disregard for the safety of persons or property.
  • 6months in jail and/or a maximum $750 in fines.
Misdemeanor

Note: State laws are always subject to change through the passage of new legislation, rulings in the higher courts (including federal decisions), ballot initiatives, and other means. While we strive to provide the most current information available, please consult an attorney or conduct your own legal research to verify the state law(s) you are researching.

Reckless Driving Citation? Get Legal Professional Help

Reckless driving is a serious charge and can result in steep fines, loss of driving privileges, or even jail time in some instances. If you have been cited with a reckless driving ticket and are going to plead not guilty, you would be wise to contact an experienced traffic ticket attorney in your area.

You Don’t Have To Solve This on Your Own – Get a Lawyer’s Help

Meeting with a lawyer can help you understand your options and how to best protect your rights. Visit our attorney directory to find a lawyer near you who can help.

Or contact an attorney near you:

Next Steps

Contact a qualified traffic ticket attorney to help you get the best result possible.

Begin typing to search, use arrow keys to navigate, use enter to select

Help Me Find a Do-It-Yourself Solution

Copied to clipboard

Find a Lawyer

More Options