Skip to main content
Find a Lawyer
Please enter a legal issue and/or a location
Begin typing to search, use arrow keys to navigate, use enter to select

Wyoming Traffic Laws

Knowing the rules of the road in Wyoming is key to staying safe and avoiding traffic citations. Being a safe and considerate motorist is more than knowing the speed limit or how to make a legal left turn. Understanding all traffic laws, like how to share the road with emergency vehicles and who has the right-of-way, will help you avoid infractions and costly fines.

On this page, you will find links to traffic laws and driving rules for the state of Wyoming, including:

Speeding in Wyoming

The maximum speed for interstate highways in Wyoming is 80 mph, but there is also a rule about driving too slowly. Driving in the far-left passing lane is illegal if you reduce speed or block traffic in your rear.

Although no state law dictates a minimum speed limit, you must drive fast enough to avoid affecting a reasonable traffic flow.

Following too closely is not allowed. Drivers of any vehicle must allow at least two seconds of following distance for every 20 feet of vehicle length. In this situation, you are likely at fault if you rear-end a vehicle, even if you think that car travels too slowly.

Speed limits for private roads, state highways, county roads, school zones, and urban areas differ. Pay attention to posted signs for variable speed limit zones and adjust your speed.

Driving Under the Influence

Wyoming has strict laws against driving under the influence of alcohol or controlled substances. The legal limit is 0.08%.

Wyoming has an implied consent law, meaning a police officer can request a breath, blood, or urine sample to test for drugs or alcohol. If you refuse a test, the officer will likely get a warrant to get a blood sample.

If police have charged you with driving under the influence, you could face the following fines and consequences for a first offense:

  • Driver's license suspension of 90 days
  • Up to six months imprisonment
  • A fine of up to $750

Fines and penalties for second and third offenses are even more severe. You may also have to pay an additional fee to get your driver's license reinstated after revocation.

What To Know When Driving in Wyoming

You may encounter some unique traffic laws when driving in Wyoming. Some rules to know include:

  • Passing on the Left: Wyoming allows drivers to go up to 10 mph over the speed limit when passing in the left lane. This is not true of no-passing zones. Drivers must return to the right side of the roadway and resume a speed under the limit as soon as safely possible.
  • Mobile Phone Usage: Using your cell phone while driving to send, write, or read a text is illegal, but you can use your phone in hands-free mode or while parked. An exception is when contacting emergency services. Violating this law can result in a misdemeanor charge with a fine of up to $75.
  • School Buses: Drivers from both directions must stop before overtaking any stopped school bus with flashing red lights. Drivers can proceed when the school bus starts moving or turns off its red flashing lights.
  • Pedestrians: Pedestrians always have the right-of-way. Drivers must treat every corner and intersection as a crosswalk. It's the law to stop for pedestrians when traffic-control devices are not in place or in use.

Table of Wyoming Traffic Laws​

Drinking and driving violations

Driving or having control of a vehicle while under the influence (WY Statutes Title 31, Ch. 5, Article 233)

Driving without a license / with a suspended license

License required (WY Statutes Title 31, Ch. 7, Article 106)

Driving without insurance / with insufficient insurance

Proof of financial responsibility (WY Statutes Title 31, Ch. 9, Article 4)

Driving without registration / with expired registration

Registration (WY Statutes Title 31, Ch. 2, Article 2)

Illegal U-turn

Limitations on turning around (WY Statutes Title 31, Ch. 5, Article 215)

Leaving the scene of an accident/hit-and-run

Accidents; duty to stop (WY Statutes Title 31, Ch. 5, Article 11)

Mechanical violations

Equipment (WY Statutes Title 31, Chapter 5, Article 9)

Reckless driving

Reckless driving (WY Statutes Title 31, Ch. 5, Article 229)

Running a red light/stop sign

Traffic-Control Devices (WY Statutes Title 31, Ch. 5, Article 4)

Seat belt/child restraint violations

Child safety restraint (WY Statutes Title 31, Ch. 5, Article 13) Safety belt usage (WY Statutes Title 31, Ch. 5, Article 14)


Speed Regulations (WY Statutes Title 31, Ch. 5, Article 3)

Unlawful vehicle modifications

Equipment (WY Statutes Title 31, Chapter 5, Article 9)


Traffic Law Violations: Get Help Now

If the police gave you a moving violation for anything ranging from running a stop sign to making an illegal U-turn in Wyoming, speaking with an experienced traffic ticket attorney is the best place to start. An experienced attorney can determine whether law enforcement followed the law and may be able to help you fight your ticket.​

Was this helpful?

You Don’t Have To Solve This on Your Own – Get a Lawyer’s Help

Meeting with a lawyer can help you understand your options and how to best protect your rights. Visit our attorney directory to find a lawyer near you who can help.

Or contact an attorney near you:

Next Steps

Contact a qualified traffic ticket attorney to help you get the best result possible.

Begin typing to search, use arrow keys to navigate, use enter to select

Help Me Find a Do-It-Yourself Solution

Can I Solve This on My Own or Do I Need an Attorney?

  • Complex traffic tickets usually require a lawyer
  • Experienced lawyers can seek to reduce or eliminate penalties
  • A lawyer can help you keep your license

Get tailored legal advice and ask a lawyer questions. Many traffic ticket attorneys offer free consultations.


 If you need an attorney, find one right now.

Copied to clipboard

Find a Lawyer

More Options