Skip to main content
Please enter a legal issue and/or a location
Begin typing to search, use arrow keys to navigate, use enter to select

Consumer Discrimination

While consumers are not a protected class (such as age or gender), some anti-discrimination laws still apply to consumers in certain situations. For example, creditors may not decline an otherwise qualified mortgage applicant solely on the basis of their skin color. Similarly, a department store issuing credit cannot charge a higher interest rate to a customer with a foreign accent. These discriminatory practices can have a deep and lasting impact on U.S. consumers and unfairly penalize them for being in a protected class. FindLaw's Consumer Discrimination section covers the basics of discrimination as it pertains to consumers, including information on how to file complaints with the appropriate government agency.

Learn About Consumer Discrimination

You Don’t Have To Solve This on Your Own – Get a Lawyer’s Help

Meeting with a lawyer can help you understand your options and how to best protect your rights. Visit our attorney directory to find a lawyer near you who can help.

Or contact an attorney near you:
Copied to clipboard

Find a Lawyer

More Options