Oregon DUI Laws
Drinking alcohol or taking drugs and driving in the "Beaver State" is strictly prohibited. If you are arrested and charged with a driving under the influence (DUI) crime, there is some important information you should be aware of. Most notably, in Oregon, whether you are arrested on a road in Portland or Eugene, the laws are the same. A DUI is actually known as "driving under the influence of intoxicants" or DUII crime. Read along as FindLaw has put together the basics of a DUII in Oregon and where you can go for more information and legal help.
What Constitutes an Oregon DUII Charge?
In Oregon, as in most U.S. states, you can be in violation of the drinking and driving laws being under the influence of an intoxicating liquor, a controlled substance, or even an inhalant if it impairs the driver's ability to safely operate a motor vehicle. Another way to be in violation of the law is if the driver has a blood alcohol concentration of 0.08 percent or more at the time of driving.
While most first-time DUII convictions are misdemeanors, a driver can be charged with a felony DUII if he or she three DUII convictions within a 10 year period. In addition to losing his or her license for an extended period of time, the driver may have to serve prison time, and pay a large fine.
High BAC/Super DUII
While it may sound like a comical name, in Oregon if you drive with a high blood alcohol (BAC) concentration, you can be charged with a DUII enhancement known by some as a "super DUII." This category of DUII will result in higher penalties including higher fines and much more.
This chart lays out the basics of Oregon's DUII/DUI laws:
|Oregon DUI Laws: Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC) Limits and Implied Consent|
|"Per Se" BAC Limit||0.08 Percent|
|Zero Tolerance (Underage) BAC Limit||0.00 Percent|
|Enhanced Penalty (Aggravated) BAC Limit||0.15 Percent|
to Submit to BAC Test?
|Oregon DUI Laws: Select Penalties|
|Minimum License Suspension or Revocation
(1st, 2nd, 3rd offense)
|90 days (and 1-yr. IID), 3 years, Permanent|
|Mandatory Alcohol Education, Assessment and Treatment||Assessment & Treatment|
|Ignition Interlock Device
Oregon DUI Resources:
- Oregon DUII Statutes: Driving Under the Influence of Intoxicants (ORS 813).
- Driving Under the Influence of Intoxicants - Resources pertaining to Oregon drunk driving laws (Oregon Health Authority).
- Implied Consent Hearings - Details on hearings regarding license suspension under Oregon's implied consent laws (Oregon DMV).
- Drivers License Suspension - Information on license suspension and revocation for DUII offenses (Oregon DMV).
Discuss Your Oregon DUI Laws Questions with a Lawyer
Getting arrested for a DUI is no laughing matter. A DUI conviction can have lasting consequences on your criminal record, your driving record, and more. If you have been arrested and charged with an intoxicated driver offense in Oregon, a good first step is to contact a local DUI attorney to discuss your case.
You Don’t Have To Solve This on Your Own – Get a Lawyer’s Help
Meeting with a lawyer can help you understand your options and how to best protect your rights. Visit our attorney directory to find a lawyer near you who can help.