Skip to main content
Find a Lawyer
Please enter a legal issue and/or a location
Begin typing to search, use arrow keys to navigate, use enter to select

Find a Lawyer

More Options

10 Best States for Getting a Divorce

By Stephanie Rabiner, Esq. | Last updated on

This post was updated on December 13, 2022.

Divorce is in the air. Or not. But if you happen to be contemplating one, you probably want to know which is the best state for divorce.

There is no overall "best" place to get a divorce--it all depends on you. For instance, those divorcing cheaters can avoid alimony if they file in Georgia. And only some states split assets 50/50, so stay-at-home parents have a tough decision to make.

Nonetheless, Bloomberg has ranked all 50 states from best to worst. They contemplated wait times, separation periods, residency requirements and fees. These are their top 10.

1. New Hampshire. Oddly enough, the state with the lowest divorce rate is the best state for divorce. You can move in one day and get divorced the next.

2. Wyoming. It's cheap! But you'll have to stay married to your spouse for 80 more days.

3. Alaska. This state doesn't have the highest national divorce rate because of its low fee ($150) and short waiting period (30 days). No, it's the cold weather and the long nights.

4. Idaho. Those married to addicts can get a fault divorce for "habitual intemperance." This may or may not help when it comes time to split the assets and determine alimony.

5. South Dakota. We've got another cheap one at $95 a pop.

6. Nevada. Reno is a little pricey on the divorce front ($289) but it's got the third fastest processing time in the nation.

7. Maine. Wife desert you? Don't know where to find her? Try Maine. After 3 years and $120, you'll be the proud recipient of a fault divorce.

8. Tennessee. Murderous husband? Try this state. Murder and all such attempts are sufficient grounds for a fault divorce. Seems like Tennessee is hiding something...

9. Montana. Even Bloomberg admits Montana is average, so it's unclear why it's one of the best states for divorce. It may be its low divorce rate of 10.1%.

10. Missouri. Little makes sense about this state except for its divorce law. After one month and $180 you can be divorced. That is, if you've lived there for 3 months.

If this list teaches you anything, it's that there really is no best state for divorce. Instead, talk to a divorce attorney and do a little research. You'll figure out where you need to file.

Related Resources:

Was this helpful?

You Don’t Have To Solve This on Your Own – Get a Lawyer’s Help

Meeting with a lawyer can help you understand your options and how to best protect your rights. Visit our attorney directory to find a lawyer near you who can help.

Or contact an attorney near you:
Copied to clipboard