10 Laws You Should Know If You're in North Carolina
North Carolina has been host to colonists, pirates, rebels, and tobacco farmers, so you may guess that the state also has a rich legal history.
You may only be visiting North Carolina for some good BBQ or planning to put down roots in Raleigh-Durham, but either way, you need to know the laws of the land.
While in the Tar Heel State, be sure to know these 10 laws:
- DUI threshold. Drunken driving in North Carolina is much the same as anywhere else in the country -- illegal, and there's a zero-tolerance policy for underage drinking and driving.
- Using your cell phone while driving. The North State barred drivers from texting while driving back in December 2009.
- Getting a divorce. North Carolina is a "no-fault divorce" state, but you can't exactly get divorced immediately. You may have to be legally separated for one year before pursuing your no-fault divorce.
- Marital property division. Like many East Coast states, North Carolina does not recognize marital property as community property. This means without an agreement like a prenup in place, each spouse will only get what's "fair" upon divorce.
- Injuries: Who's at fault? Even the professors at Duke University can do something stupid, but if you're even partially at fault for an accident, you cannot recover in a negligence lawsuit in North Carolina.
- Gun Laws. The Tar Heel State is the birthplace of Krispy Kreme and many gun owners. But if you want to carry a concealed firearm there, you'll need to wait 30 days to get a permit.
- Statutes of limitations. Planning to sue your neighbor for smashing your mailbox? In North Carolina you have up to three years to file a personal property damage claim; the time limits are different for other types of injuries and crimes.
- Income tax. Personal income tax in North Carolina will be fairly simple starting in the 2015 tax year -- a flat tax of 5.75 percent for all filers.
- Gambling. North Carolina is pretty tight on restrictions for gambling, but you may do it legally if you're on an Indian reservation.
- Age restrictions. Those under 18 can't legally consent to much without a parent or guardian, but they can consent to drug rehab or pregnancy care.
Don't be a heel in the Tar Heel State. Learn more about North Carolina by visiting FindLaw's section on North Carolina's laws.
- Browse North Carolina Lawyers, Attorneys, and Law Firms (FindLaw)
- 10 Laws You Should Know If You're in Pennsylvania (FindLaw's Law and Daily Life)
- 10 Laws You Should Know If You're in Florida (FindLaw's Law and Daily Life)
- 10 Laws You Should Know If You're in Ohio (FindLaw's Law and Daily Life)
You Don’t Have To Solve This on Your Own – Get a Lawyer’s Help
Meeting with a lawyer can help you understand your options and how to best protect your rights. Visit our attorney directory to find a lawyer near you who can help.