Skip to main content
Please enter a legal issue and/or a location
Begin typing to search, use arrow keys to navigate, use enter to select

Find a Lawyer

More Options

10 Laws You Should Know If You're in Virginia

By Brett Snider, Esq. on November 29, 2014 | Last updated on March 21, 2019

Virginia is for lovers. But it's also for students, parents, thrillseekers, risk-takers, and entrepreneurs. No matter which one of those hats you decide to wear in the Commonwealth of Virginia, you'll need to know the laws of the realm.

While in the Old Dominion, be sure to know these 10 laws:

  1. DUI threshold. Driving while intoxicated in Virginia is illegal, as you might expect. What you might not know is that the legal limit for commercial drivers is .04 percent blood alcohol content.
  2. Using your cell phone while driving. Texting while driving is barred for all drivers, but drivers under the age of 18 can't use cell phones at all while driving.
  3. Getting a divorce. You can get a no-fault divorce in Virginia (if you're done being a lover), but you'll likely need to be legally separated for at least one year.
  4. Marital property division. Unless you have a prenup or similar agreement, when you divorce in Virginia, your martial property will be divided based on what is equitable -- what's fair.
  5. Injuries: Who's at fault? When an accident occurs, the victim in Virginia may be completely barred from recovery if he or she was negligent.
  6. Statutes of limitations. Got into a nasty wreck near William and Mary? Personal injury claims may be barred if more than two years pass thanks for Virginia's statute of limitations.
  7. Gambling. Virginia may also be for gamblers at times, but you won't find any legal casinos in the state.
  8. Gun laws. Virginia is often called the "birthplace of a nation." Hunting Americans in Virginia may be happy to know that Virginia has a very short waiting period for a gun.
  9. Age restrictions. Many of Virginia's natives have grown to historic proportions, but until you're 16-years-old, you can't petition for emancipation in the state.
  10. Income tax. Virginia has a progressive income tax, which can range from two to 5.75 percent based on your taxable income.

The Mother of States can be tough on you if you don't know the laws. Learn more about Virginia by visiting FindLaw's section on Virginia's laws.

Related Resources:

You Don’t Have To Solve This on Your Own – Get a Lawyer’s Help

Meeting with a lawyer can help you understand your options and how to best protect your rights. Visit our attorney directory to find a lawyer near you who can help.

Or contact an attorney near you:
Copied to clipboard