Skip to main content
Please enter a legal issue and/or a location
Begin typing to search, use arrow keys to navigate, use enter to select

Social Security Disability Appeals Process

Unlike most other legal procedures, the appeals process for Social Security Disability Insurance (SSDI) and Supplemental Security Income (SSI) benefits is divided into four distinct levels. The initial appeal is called "reconsideration" and involves a review of the original claim. But while most reconsideration requests are denied, claimants may then request a hearing with an Administrative Law Judge. Applicants whose claims are again denied or otherwise do not result in the desired outcome may request a review by the SSA Appeals Council, followed by a claim in federal court. This section will help you understand and prepare for a disability claim appeal.

Learn About Social Security Disability Appeals Process

You Don’t Have To Solve This on Your Own – Get a Lawyer’s Help

Meeting with a lawyer can help you understand your options and how to best protect your rights. Visit our attorney directory to find a lawyer near you who can help.

Or contact an attorney near you:
Copied to clipboard

Find a Lawyer

More Options