Alabama Workers' Compensation Laws
Created by FindLaw's team of legal writers and editors | Last reviewed December 07, 2018
Whether you work in aerospace, manufacturing, car sales, or another one of Alabama's great industries, you work hard in the Heart of Dixie. But if you get injured at work, you should know that Alabama takes care of its own and has generous time limits for wage replacement. However, because there are caps on the amount of compensation you can receive, you should arm yourself with a strong defense by reading up on Alabama workers' compensation laws.
The table and accompanying information summarize the most important portions of Alabama workers' compensation laws.
Filing Time Limits
Benefit Time Limits
Benefit Amount Limits
If you work for an employer who regularly employs five or more employees, you are likely covered by Alabama’s workers' compensation laws. There are a few exceptions, however, including:
- Domestic employees
- Farm laborers
- Casual employees
- Employees of municipalities having a population of less than 2,000
Workers' compensation in Alabama consists of two parts: compensation for medical bills arising out of a work-related injury, and wage-replacement compensation for wages lost from time away from work. Alabama provides wage compensation in varying amounts for varying periods of time depending on whether you are temporarily total disabled, temporarily partial disabled, permanently partially disabled, or permanently totally disabled.
Benefit Amount Limits
Your average weekly wages are equal to your earnings during the 52 weeks prior to your injury divided by 52 weeks. No matter what type of workers' compensation benefits you may be entitled to, the most you will be able to receive if you were injured on or after July 1, 2016 is $832.000.
If you are permanently partially disabled by a work-related injury, your will receive compensation based on the type of injury. If your injury is not specifically compensated by law but you suffered serious disfigurement, you may be entitled to 66 2/3% of your average weekly earnings for a period of time which the court may determine, but not exceeding 100 weeks.
What to Do If Your Claim Is Denied
If your injury is mental, such as post-traumatic stress disorder or chronic anxiety disorder, your claim may be denied. Fortunately, mental injuries and mental disorders which were produced or proximately caused by a physical injury are compensable in Alabama. An experienced Alabama workers' compensation attorney can help you navigate Alabama workers' compensation laws by helping you to best present the circumstances of your injury. So if your claim was denied for any reason, it’s in your best interests to consult with an attorney.
Additionally, if you wish to file a review based on medical issues, Alabama offers medical dispute resolution. Before you submit your disputed claim, contact the Ombudsman's office for the Alabama state Workers' Compensation Division.
Talk to an Alabama Injury Attorney About Your Workers' Comp Claim
Whether you're an Alabama or Auburn fan, you believe that by working hard you earn the right to play hard. But if working hard resulted in you being unable to work or play, Alabama's workers' compensation laws are meant to take care of you while you recover. If your claim is denied or you're granted less compensation than you expected, talk to an Alabama injury attorney today.
Was this helpful?
You Don’t Have To Solve This on Your Own – Get a Lawyer’s Help
Meeting with a lawyer can help you understand your options and how to best protect your rights. Visit our attorney directory to find a lawyer near you who can help.
Next Steps: Search for a Local Attorney
Contact a qualified attorney.