If you get into a car accident in the Grand Canyon State, you may wonder whether or not you have to file a report under local state laws. In Arizona, private citizens are not required to report car accidents. However, law enforcement officers must report any accidents if they result in injury, death, or property damage of over $1,000, or in the issuance of a citation. Furthermore, you should remain at the site of an accident until law enforcement officers arrive.
Arizona Car Accident Report Overview
If you'd like to learn more about Arizona car accident reporting requirements, please see the summarized sections of the following chart.
Arizona Statutes § 28-667
When to Report:
Law enforcement officers must file a written accident report if any of the following occur as a result of the accident:
- Property damage exceeding $1,000
- Issuance of any citation
How to File a Car Crash Report in Arizona:
If you are involved in an accident meeting the above conditions, a law enforcement officer must file a written accident report, usually within 24 hours of the accident. You must remain at the scene of the accident and provide the officer with as much information as possible. The officer's accident report must contain at the very least:
- The time, day, month and year of the accident
- Information adequate to identify the location of the accident
- Identifying information for all involved parties and witnesses, including name, age, sex, address, telephone number, vehicle ownership and registration and proof of insurance
- A narrative description of the facts of the accident, a simple diagram of the scene of the accident and the investigating officer's name, agency and identification number.
Note: State laws are always subject to change through the passage of new legislation, rulings in the higher courts (including federal decisions), ballot initiatives, and other means. While we strive to provide the most current information available, please consult an attorney or conduct your own legal research to verify the state law(s) you are researching.
Staying at the Scene of an Accident
Under Arizona law, you are required to stay at the scene of an accident until police arrive. If you leave before officers arrive at the scene, you may be guilty of a Grade 2 or 3 felony and have your driver's license suspended.
Contacting the Authorities after an Accident
The Arizona Department of Transportation (DOT) also recommends that you contact the local law enforcement authorities after an accident, either by calling 9-1-1 or the nearby Highway Patrol. That way, if it is an accident that needs to be reported to law enforcement, the relevant authorities will be made aware of it and will also be able to file a report under their state law obligations.
Research the Law
Learn More About Arizona Car Accident Reports by Speaking to a Lawyer
Do you still have questions about how to file a car crash report in Arizona with the police or Arizona car accident reporting generally? If so, it's best to get in touch with a qualified car accident attorney in Arizona who can answer all of your questions and guide you through the process of filing a report, if necessary.