Arkansas Leases and Rental Agreements Laws
Created by FindLaw's team of legal writers and editors | Last reviewed June 20, 2016
This article has been written and reviewed for legal accuracy, clarity, and style by FindLaw’s team of legal writers and attorneys and in accordance with our editorial standards.
The last updated date refers to the last time this article was reviewed by FindLaw or one of our contributing authors. We make every effort to keep our articles updated. For information regarding a specific legal issue affecting you, please contact an attorney in your area.
The legal relationship between landlord and tenant is governed by state lease and rental agreement laws, which are meant to protect the rights and interests of each party. These laws regulate the general terms allowed for leases, how much of a security deposit the landlord may require, prohibited forms of discrimination (which typically allow exceptions for planned retirement communities), and other aspects of renting. Since the lease or rental agreement is a legally binding contract between the landlord and tenant, both parties are responsible for adhering to the terms.
A few states have adopted a piece of model legislation known as the Uniform Residential Landlord & Tenant Act , which requires landlords to meet minimum standards for safe housing.
Arkansas Lease and Rental Agreement Laws at a Glance
The terms of a lease may be for one or more years, but automatically becomes year-to-year when the landlord accepts rent after a tenant has reached the end of his or her lease. Deposits may not be more than the cost of two months' rent, and must be returned within 30 days of lease termination, minus any expenses for cleaning or damage.
The following table lists additional details about Arkansas lease and rental agreement laws. See FindLaw's Rental and Lease Agreements section for more articles.
|Code Section||18-16-304, 305|
|Terms of Leases||When rent accepted by a landlord of a holding-over tenant, the term becomes a tenancy from year-to-year. (Jonesboro Trust Co. v. Harbough, 244 S.W. 455, 456 (Ark. 1922))|
|Deposits||Limit of 2 months' rent; interest on deposit not required; deposit must be returned within 30 days of termination|
|Discrimination||"[T]he opportunity to obtain housing and other real estate without discrimination based on race, color, national origin, religion, sex, disability or familial status… is recognized and declared to be a civil right."|
|Uniform Residential Landlord & Tenant Act Adopted?||No|
Note: State laws are always subject to change, most commonly through the enactment of newly signed legislation but also through higher court decisions and other means. You may want to contact an Arkansas landlord-tenant law attorney or conduct your own legal research to verify the state law(s) you are researching.
Research the Law
- Arkansas Law
- Official State Codes - Links to the official online statutes (laws) in all 50 states and DC.
Arkansas Lease and Rental Agreement Laws: Related Resources
You Don’t Have To Solve This on Your Own – Get a Lawyer’s Help
Meeting with a lawyer can help you understand your options and how to best protect your rights. Visit our attorney directory to find a lawyer near you who can help.
Next Steps: Search for a Local Attorney
Contact a qualified attorney.