Wondering if you need to file a report after getting into a car accident while driving around in the Bluegrass State? In Kentucky, you must file a report with the State Police if the accident results in injury, death, or property damage over $500. You must also file such a report within 10 days of the accident, or else you may have to pay a fine or have your driver's license suspended.
Kentucky Car Accident Report Overview
To learn more about how to file a car crash report in Kentucky, see the following chart.
Kentucky Revised Statutes, Title XVI Motor Vehicles § 189.635
When to Report:
You must file an accident report to the local police station if the accident results in any of the following:
- Property damage exceeding $500
How to File a Car Crash Report in Kentucky:
If you are involved in an accident meeting the above conditions, you must file an accident report or the Civilian Collision Report Form with the Kentucky State Police within 10 days of the accident. You can also file reports online. The report must contain at the very least:
- Name, address, and telephone number (as well as other contact information) of all individuals involved (including passengers)
- Birth date and license number of all the drivers involved
- Make, year and model of all vehicles involved
- License plate numbers and registration information for all vehicles involved, as well as the state where the vehicle is registered
- Estimated repair costs for any vehicle damage
- Relevant insurance information including contact information for the insurance company that each driver has for their vehicle
- Any non-vehicle property damage
- Location of the accident
- Any weather, road, light, traffic control (stop signs, traffic lights) conditions during the time of the accident
Note: State laws are always subject to change through the passage of new legislation, rulings in the higher courts (including federal decisions), ballot initiatives, and other means. While we strive to provide the most current information available, please consult an attorney or conduct your own legal research to verify the state law(s) you are researching.
Mailing in a Civilian Collision Report Form
In addition to filing a car accident report with the nearest Kentucky police station, or calling the nearest Kentucky police station to report a car accident, you can mail your filled-out Civilian Collision Report Form to the following address:
Kentucky State Police
1250 Louisville Road,
Frankfort, KY 40601
Consequences of Not Reporting
Failure to report a car accident, including failure to file a written accident report with the Kentucky State Police is punishable by a fine of $20 to $100.
Research the Law
Get Legal Help to Better Understand Kentucky Car Accident Reporting Requirements
As you can see, it's important to know when you're required by Kentucky law to file a car accident report and how to file such a report. If you have any questions about the requirements for reporting a car accident in Kentucky, it's best to consult with a skilled car accident attorney near you.