Nevada Domestic Violence Laws
Created by FindLaw's team of legal writers and editors | Last reviewed June 20, 2016
This article has been written and reviewed for legal accuracy, clarity, and style by FindLaw’s team of legal writers and attorneys and in accordance with our editorial standards.
The last updated date refers to the last time this article was reviewed by FindLaw or one of our contributing authors. We make every effort to keep our articles updated. For information regarding a specific legal issue affecting you, please contact an attorney in your area.
Domestic violence is a serious crime that can land the perpetrator in jail. While each state defines domestic violence slightly differently, the crime generally encompasses acts of abuse that occur between household or family members. This article provides a brief overview of Nevada's domestic violence laws.
|Nevada Code section 33.018: Domestic Violence|
Household or Family Members
|In Nevada, domestic violence can only occur between the following people:
Acts that Can Constitute Domestic Violence
Penalties for Domestic Violence
In Nevada, offenders who commit acts of domestic violence are generally subject to the follow penalties:
- First Offense Within Seven Years: Misdemeanor offense that is punishable by imprisonment for two days to six months, 48 to 120 hours of community service, and a fine of between $200 and $1,000.
- Second Offense Within Seven Years: Misdemeanor offense that is punishable by imprisonment for 10 days to six months, 100 to 200 hours of community service, and a fine of between $500 and $1,000.
- Third (or Subsequent) Offense Within Seven Years: Class C felony that is punishable by imprisonment for one to five years, and a fine of up to $10,000.
Additionally, those who are convicted under Nevada's domestic violence statutes are also required to participate in counseling sessions.
- Domestic Violence: Orders of Protection and Restraining Orders
- Stopping Domestic Violence
- Nevada Protection Order Handbook
If you are a domestic violence survivor there is help available for you. During an emergency dial 911 and when you're safe contact the Nevada Network Against Domestic Violence.
State laws change frequently. For case specific information regarding Nevada's domestic violence laws contact a local criminal defense lawyer.
You Don’t Have To Solve This on Your Own – Get a Lawyer’s Help
Meeting with a lawyer can help you understand your options and how to best protect your rights. Visit our attorney directory to find a lawyer near you who can help.
Next Steps: Search for a Local Attorney
Contact a qualified attorney.