North Carolina Cocaine Laws
The possession, sale, or trafficking of cocaine is a felony crime in most states. Possession of even a small amount of the drug is charged as a Class I felony in North Carolina, which is punishable by up to one year in jail. North Carolina cocaine laws are similar to cocaine laws in other states, although the state doesn't offer drug abatement programs -- in which the defendant receives drug treatment in lieu of jail -- for cocaine possession.
The charges and penalties under North Carolina's cocaine laws are listed below, while in-depth information about the subject follows. See FindLaw's Drug Charges section for additional resources.
|Code Section||90-86, et seq.|
|Possession||Class I felony, 6-12 mos. in jail
|Sale||Class G felony; Selling of controlled substance to person under 16 or pregnant female or within 300 ft. of school property: Class E felony|
|Trafficking||28-200 g.: Class G felony, 35-51 mos. and $50,000; 200-400 g.: Class F felony, 70-93 mos. and $100,000; 400 g. and over: Class D felony, 175-222 mos. and $250,000|
Note: State laws are always subject to change through the passage of new legislation, rulings in the higher courts (including federal decisions), ballot initiatives, and other means. While we strive to provide the most current information available, please consult an attorney or conduct your own legal research to verify the state law(s) you are researching.
Possession of Cocaine
In North Carolina, getting caught with any amount of cocaine is a Class I felony. This means that the punishment will be anywhere from six months to a year in jail. Depending on how much cocaine was in the defendant's possession, the charges may be significantly higher.
North Carolina's drug laws are especially strict when it comes to selling cocaine. Any cocaine sale, regardless of the amount, is a class G felony, however there are many issues that raise the severity of the crime. Selling cocaine to a person under 16 in North Carolina is a Class E felony. As well, selling to a pregnant female, or selling anywhere within three hundred feet of school property is a Class E felony too.
Drug trafficking in North Carolina can be either transporting and importing drugs, or manufacturing drugs. Trafficking cocaine between twenty eight and two thousand grams is a class G felony, which comes with a 35-51 month jail penalty, and a $50,000 fine. If the amount of cocaine is between 200 and 400 grams, the crime is a Class F felony punishable by 70-93 months in prison, and a $100,000 fine. For any amount of cocaine over 400 grams, the crime is a Class D felony, punishable by 175-222 months in jail and a $250,000 fine.
Charged with Violating North Carolina Cocaine Laws? Get Legal Help
North Carolina takes drug offenses very seriously, especially if it involves cocaine. If you're charged with a cocaine related offense, you risk incarceration if convicted. Anytime incarceration is a possibility, you should act in your best interest and get in touch with an experienced drug crime lawyer who can put up a strategically sound defense on your behalf.
You Don’t Have To Solve This on Your Own – Get a Lawyer’s Help
Meeting with a lawyer can help you understand your options and how to best protect your rights. Visit our attorney directory to find a lawyer near you who can help.
Next Steps: Search for a Local Attorney
Contact a qualified attorney.