Oregon Compulsory Education Laws
Created by FindLaw's team of legal writers and editors | Last reviewed June 20, 2016
This article has been written and reviewed for legal accuracy, clarity, and style by FindLaw’s team of legal writers and attorneys and in accordance with our editorial standards.
The last updated date refers to the last time this article was reviewed by FindLaw or one of our contributing authors. We make every effort to keep our articles updated. For information regarding a specific legal issue affecting you, please contact an attorney in your area.
to maintain an educated work force (one that is more likely to contribute to the economy), each state has laws requiring children of a certain age to attend school on a full-time basis. State laws allow for options such as private, religious, or home schooling. These compulsory education laws often hold parents or guardians responsible for a child's school attendance, and may prosecute parents for noncompliance. States typically provide a baseline of standards and other regulations to which the parents of home schooled children must adhere.
Overview of Oregon Compulsory Education Law
The state of Oregon requires children between the ages of seven and 18 to attend school, with a few exceptions. For instance, a child younger than 18 who has graduated is exempt, as are children 16 and older who are employed or who are emancipated from their parents. Noncompliance with the school attendance requirement usually triggers a written notice to the parent, the first step in the administrative process. But if parents do not remedy the situation, they could face up to $500 in fines for each violation.
Learn more about Oregon's compulsory education laws, including exemptions, in the following chart.
|Code Section||339.005, et seq.|
|Age at Which School Attendance is Required||Between 7 and 18|
|Exceptions to Attendance Requirements||Child has completed 12th grade; attending private school; proof of equivalent knowledge of subjects through 12th grade; children taught by parent or private teacher; over 16 and lawfully employed; child is emancipated; child is employed|
|Home School Provisions||Give notice to superintendent and notice must be acknowledged by him; annual examination given and results submitted to superintendent; if insufficient score, student may be ordered to attend public school|
|Penalties for Parents for Noncompliance||Written notice to parent given; upon noncompliance, district superintendent notified; if not resolved through school administration, the superindendent may refer the matter to the state, which may charge the parents with a Class C violation (up to $500 fine)|
Note: State laws are always changing, usually through the the passage of new legislation or decisions by state or federal appeals courts. Make sure you contact an Oregon education law attorney or conduct your own legal research to verify the state law(s) you are researching.
Research the Law
- Oregon Law
- Official State Codes - Links to the official online statutes (laws) in all 50 states and DC.
Oregon Compulsory Education Laws: Related Resources
You Don’t Have To Solve This on Your Own – Get a Lawyer’s Help
Meeting with a lawyer can help you understand your options and how to best protect your rights. Visit our attorney directory to find a lawyer near you who can help.
Next Steps: Search for a Local Attorney
Contact a qualified attorney.