Did you get into a car crash while driving on the roads of the Lone Star State? Whether you're driving a pick-up truck or sedan, the possibility of getting into an automobile accident is always present, and there are certain circumstances where you must report the accident under Texas law. Specifically, you're required to report an accident to the Texas Department of Transportation (DOT) if your accident is not investigated by a law enforcement officer and results in either injury or death, or damage to property or vehicles exceeding $1000. You're also required to file a car crash report with the Texas DOT within 10 days of the accident if a police report has not been filed for it already.
Texas Car Accident Report Overview
Details on how to file a car crash report in Texas as well as other information about Texas car accident report basics are covered in the below chart.
Texas Transportation Code § 601.004
When to Report:
If you're involved in a motor vehicle accident in Texas, you must report it to the Texas DOT if the accident is not investigated by a law enforcement officer and at least one person, including the operator, sustains:
- Injury or death; or
- Property damage more than $1000
How to File a Car Crash Report in Texas:
To file a car crash report with the DOT in Texas (which must be done 10 days after the accident), you, your insurance agent, the owner of the vehicle or your legal representative must complete the Crash Report (Form CR-2 also known as "The Blue Form") and submit it to the DOT. To fill out the Crash Report form or Form CR-2, you will need to supply or gather the following information:
- Place and time of accident
- The name, address, and date of birth of all motor vehicle operators involved in the accident
- The driver license information (State of license, license number) of all motor vehicle operators involved in the accident
- The driver's license plate number and state of all motor vehicle operators involved in the accident
- The name and address of all policy holders and the name of their insurance
- The name and address of all registered vehicle owners of motor vehicles involved in the accident
- A summary of what happened during the motor vehicle accident
- Weather and road conditions at the time of the accident
Note: State laws are always subject to change through the passage of new legislation, rulings in the higher courts (including federal decisions), ballot initiatives, and other means. While we strive to provide the most current information available, please consult an attorney or conduct your own legal research to verify the state law(s) you are researching.
Exceptions to Texas Car Accident Reporting Requirements
If a Texas police officer already filed a report on the motor vehicle accident, then there is no requirement to file a car crash report in the state. Under Texas law, officers also have to report accidents that result in (1) injury or death or (2) damage in the amount of $1000 or more within 10 days of the accident.
Penalties for Not Reporting
Also under Texas law, you can have your driver's license suspended if you fail to make a report if another person in the accident sustained bodily injury, death, or property damage amounting to more than $1000.
Research the Law
Get an Attorney's Help with Your Car Accident Claim
Were you involved in a car accident in Texas? Have confusion on whether you need to file a car crash report in Texas? If you need help, then you should see a local Texas car accident lawyer to get all your questions answered about Texas car accident report basics.