Skip to main content
Find a Lawyer
Please enter a legal issue and/or a location
Begin typing to search, use arrow keys to navigate, use enter to select

Utah Overtime Laws

If you currently work in Utah and work more than regular business hours, your employer may owe you overtime pay. Utah has its own state overtime laws and also follows the federal overtime provisions of the Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA). Essentially, employees in Utah must work at least 40 hours in a single work week before receiving overtime pay, which is counted as at least 1.5 times the employee's normal hourly wage.

UtahOvertime Law Overview

A summary of Utah overtime law is provided in the following chart.

State and Federal Statutes

Overtime Calculation Methods:

  • Hourly: Pay time and a half (1.5 times the regular rate) for hours worked in excess of 40 hours per workweek.
  • Hourly Plus Bonus and/or Commission: Regular rate = Total hours times hourly rate, plus the workweek equivalent of the bonus and/or commission, divided by the total hours in the workweek; then pay half of that regular rate for each overtime hour.
  • Salary: Regular rate = Salary divided by the number of hours the salary is intended to compensate.
    • If the regular hours are less than 40: Add regular rate for each hour up to 40, then pay time and a half for hours over 40.
    • If the regular hours = 40: Pay time and a half for hours over 40.

Exempt from FLSA

  • The following classes of employees are not entitled to overtime pay in Mississippi (partial list)
    • Minors under 16
    • Executive employees
    • Administrative employees
    • Professional employees
    • Outside salespeople

Note: State laws are always subject to change through the passage of new legislation, rulings in the higher courts (including federal decisions), ballot initiatives, and other means. While we strive to provide the most current information available, please consult an attorney or conduct your own legal research to verify the state law(s) you are researching.

No Daily Overtime Limit

Unlike some other states, Utah does not specify a daily limit for hours worked over a certain amount of hours in a single day. However, employers are free to contract with their employees to establish such a daily overtime limit if both parties agree.

Holiday and Vacation Pay in Utah

In general, Utah overtime laws do not require employers to provide holiday, vacation, or sick pay to their employees. However, if an employer establishes a policy that provides these kinds of pay, they must abide by the policy in a non-discriminatory manner.

Utah Overtime Exemptions

Some kinds of workers are exempted from Utah overtime laws, including:

  • Minors under 16
  • Executive employees
  • Administrative employees
  • Professional employees
  • Outside salespeople
  • Amusement park employees
  • Organized camp, religious or non-profit education employees (if the business does not operate more than seven months a year)
  • Employees employed in catching, taking, harvesting, cultivating, or farming of any kind of fish, shellfish, crustacean, sponges, or other types of sea life
  • Agricultural employees if they do not work more than 500 man-days or work part of a family farm
  • Any employee involved with weekly, semiweekly, or daily newspaper circulation
  • Any switchboard operator
  • Domestic employees
  • Criminal investigators
  • Some computer-related employees

Research the Law

Have Specific Questions About Utah Overtime Laws? Ask an Attorney

Although Utah's overtime laws appear relatively straightforward, there may be nuances that only a legal professional would know about. If you have specific questions about Utah overtime laws and how they apply to you, it's a good idea to speak with a skilled employment lawyer near you.

Was this helpful?

You Don’t Have To Solve This on Your Own – Get a Lawyer’s Help

Meeting with a lawyer can help you understand your options and how to best protect your rights. Visit our attorney directory to find a lawyer near you who can help.

Or contact an attorney near you:

Next Steps: Search for a Local Attorney

Contact a qualified attorney.

Begin typing to search, use arrow keys to navigate, use enter to select
Copied to clipboard

Find a Lawyer

More Options