Skip to main content
Find a Lawyer
Please enter a legal issue and/or a location
Begin typing to search, use arrow keys to navigate, use enter to select

Vermont Car Accident Report Basics

Most people know you can't simply drive off after a car accident, even if you think it wasn't your fault. However, many Vermont residents may not know what state law requires of them both at the scene of the crash and in the days that follow. Whether your accident occurred on your way to a summer festival in Burlington or after a day on the Killington slopes, it's important to be aware of your legal obligations. Read on to learn more about Vermont car accident report basics.

Vermont Car Accident Report Laws

In Vermont, it's important to remember that you must stop and remain at the scene after a car accident involving injury to anyone other than you or damage to property other than your own car. You also must give reasonably necessary aid to anyone who is injured. After that, be sure to exchange information with the other drivers and injured passengers, providing your name, address, license number, and the name of your car's owner.

Certain accidents also require you to fill out and submit a crash report. In Vermont, if someone was injured or there's at least $3,000 worth of total property damage, you must submit a written report to the Commissioner of Motor Vehicles within 72 hours after the accident.

How to File a Car Crash Report in Vermont

You can access and download the Vermont car accident report online. You'll need to provide personal information, a description of the accident, the other drivers' information, the nature of injuries sustained, and costs to repair the vehicles involved. If there were more than two cars involved, you should file an additional report for each additional car.

The report also requires you to provide insurance information for your vehicle, showing whether or not you had the required amount of liability coverage at the time of the accident. Additionally, state law requires you to provide your liability insurance information within five days to anyone who was injured or whose property was damaged.

Vermont Car Accident Report Laws at a Glance

The chart below provides a summary of state laws related to Vermont car accident reports, including links to key statutes.


Report Required

  • Must submit written report to Commissioner of Motor Vehicles if accident results in injury or total property damage of at least $3,000
  • DMV may require additional information after report is submitted

Report Deadline

  • Must mail within 72 hours after the accident

Who Must Report

  • Every driver involved in the accident

Note: State laws are always subject to change through the passage of new legislation, rulings in the higher courts (including federal decisions), ballot initiatives, and other means. While we strive to provide the most current information available, please consult an attorney or conduct your own legal research to verify the state law(s) you are researching.

Vermont Car Accident Report Basics: Related Resources

Get a Review of Your Vermont Car Accident Issues

Even though many car accidents can be handled without much conflict, the reality is that even a minor car crash can become a huge hassle. From insurance issues to civil and even criminal penalties, the stakes may be too high to handle on your own. Receive a case evaluation to better understand your legal options and to ensure you've complied with Vermont's car accident report laws.

Was this helpful?

You Don’t Have To Solve This on Your Own – Get a Lawyer’s Help

Meeting with a lawyer can help you understand your options and how to best protect your rights. Visit our attorney directory to find a lawyer near you who can help.

Or contact an attorney near you:

Next Steps: Search for a Local Attorney

Contact a qualified attorney.

Begin typing to search, use arrow keys to navigate, use enter to select

Can I Solve This on My Own or Do I Need an Attorney?

  • A lawyer can help seek fair compensation on your behalf
  • Car accident claims are complex and insurance carriers have lawyers on their side

Get tailored legal advice and ask a lawyer questions about your accident. Many attorneys offer free consultations.


 If you need an attorney, find one right now.

Copied to clipboard

Find a Lawyer

More Options