Wyoming – the state of Yellowstone National Park, Old Faithful, and of course, the Buffalo Bill Center of the West. What do these spirited tourist sites have in common? You’ll most likely be driving to them. While motor vehicle accidents in Wyoming can happen at any time, whether commuting to work or heading out with the family for some fun, you’ll want to know the laws of the roadway should you be involved in a car accident. More importantly, you may be interested in how the Wyoming car accident settlement process and timeline work. Below, you will find key information about reporting requirements, car insurance laws, settlements, and more. Keep in mind, if a driver commits a crime, such as a driving under the influence violation, and hits you, you may also be entitled to criminal restitution.
Do I Need to Report a Car Accident in Wyoming?
Ever since July 1, 2013, drivers no longer have to report their crash to the Wyoming Department of Transportation (DOT). The DOT will verify that you and the other driver carry insurance via an online search. If you are found to be an uninsured driver, you will face stiff penalties including have your driver’s license suspended. You should, however, report the accident by calling 911 immediately if someone is injured or killed or there is serious property damage. A law enforcement officer will come out to investigate the scene and write an unbiased report that will be used in your car accident settlement negotiations or possible civil trial.
Wyoming Car Insurance Laws
In order to legally drive in Wyoming, you must have a minimum amount of car insurance. That minimum amount of insurance is broken down as follows:
- $25,000 per person for bodily injury
- $50,000 per accident for bodily injury
- $20,000 per accident for property
For more information, contact the Rocky Mountain Insurance Information Association (RIIA).
How Do Car Accident Settlements Work in Wyoming?
A typical car accident settlement works out like this. If you are involved in a car accident, you will immediately notify your insurance company or the other party’s. Next, the insurance company must confirm that your policy is in effect and that the accident is covered or that the at-fault party has insurance. Next, your claim will be assigned to a claims adjuster. The adjuster to look at damages to your car, evaluate the loss and figure out how much you can claim under your policy. If you don’t agree with the settlement offer, it will be important to discuss your options with a skilled attorney. Your attorney may be able to write a demand letter, conduct additional investigation, and even make a counteroffer. If both parties cannot agree to an amount, the case will likely end up in court.
What Is the Average Car Accident Settlement in Wyoming?
Simply put, this question cannot be answered with a specific dollar amount. All car accident cases are different and many factors can come into play when deciding how much your injuries are “worth.” However, an experienced attorney in your area may be able to provide you with a reasonable expectation of recovery.
How Long Do I Have to File a Car Accident Lawsuit in Wyoming?
Under Wyoming law, an injured motorist must file their lawsuit within four years from the date of the car accident. In legal terminology, this is also called statute of limitation and can be found under Wyoming Code 1-3-105. Why is this important? If you miss the deadline, a Wyoming court will not hear your case and will not be able to collect if you have injuries as a result of the other driver’s negligence.
Negotiating a Car Accident Settlement? Talk to a Vermont Attorney First
Whether you're in a fender bender or a multi-car collision, understanding the settlement process and laws surrounding your rights is very important. Learn more about the statute of limitations and what goes into a settlement offer today. Start the process today by meeting with an experienced Wyoming car accident attorney.