Skip to main content
Find a Lawyer
Please enter a legal issue and/or a location
Begin typing to search, use arrow keys to navigate, use enter to select

Wyoming Heroin Laws

Heroin and other illicit narcotic drugs are illegal under federal and all state laws. That said, many states now offer drug diversion programs to help drug abusers get treatment in lieu of prison. Wyoming heroin laws state that possession of the powerful opiate is a felony if over 3 grams, punishable by 7 years in prison and/or a $15,000 fine. Possession of less than 3 grams is punishable by up to one year and/or a $1,000 fine.

The main provisions of Wyoming's heroin laws are listed in the chart below and more in-depth information follows. See FindLaw's Drug Charges section for related articles and resources.

Code Section 35-7-1001 to 1057
Possession Less than 3 g.: misdemeanor, up to 1 yr. and/or $1000; Over 3 g.: felony, 7 yrs. and/or $15,000; Subsequent offense: up to 5 yrs. and/or $5000 or double penalties
Sale Up to 20 yrs. and/or $25,000; Subsequent offense or sale to minor or within drug-free zone: double penalties
Trafficking -

Justification for Strict Heroin Laws

Heroin is one of the most strictly regulated drugs in Wyoming. This is because it is highly addictive, and the negative effects of addiction are not limit to the drug user herself. People addicted to drugs may commit other crimes like theft or burglary to help pay for their addiction once they have spent all of their own money. The state of Wyoming also uses a lot of its financial resources to pay for court procedures and incarceration for addicts who have been convicted of those crimes.

Possession of Heroin

Possessing less than 3 grams of heroin in Wyoming is a misdemeanor, but with hefty potential punishments. For a first offense, you may be put in jail for one year, and fined $1,000. Possession of more than 3 grams is a felony and can earn jail time up to 7 years, and the fine can be as much as $15,000. Also, possessing large amounts of heroin may be considered drug trafficking even if it is intended for personal use.

Sale of Heroin

For a first offense, selling heroin can be punished by up to 20 years in prison and/or a $25,000 fine. The amount of jail time and the fine can change depending on how much heroin was sold, and can even change based on the location of the sale, like at a school. Second offenses, as well as all other subsequent offenses, can see the penalties doubled.

Getting Legal Help

A heroin conviction is very serious, and will have a huge impact on your life. If you would like to know more about heroin law, or, if you would like help from a private attorney to defend you against heroin charges, there are many Wyoming criminal defense attorneys with knowledge of drug laws who may be able to help.

Was this helpful?

You Don’t Have To Solve This on Your Own – Get a Lawyer’s Help

Meeting with a lawyer can help you understand your options and how to best protect your rights. Visit our attorney directory to find a lawyer near you who can help.

Or contact an attorney near you:

Next Steps: Search for a Local Attorney

Contact a qualified attorney.

Begin typing to search, use arrow keys to navigate, use enter to select

Can I Solve This on My Own or Do I Need an Attorney?

  • Complex drug crimes usually require a lawyer
  • Experienced drug crime lawyers can seek to reduce or eliminate criminal penalties
  • Drug crime laws involve many specifics that can quickly change a case

Get tailored legal advice and ask a lawyer questions. Many Wyoming attorneys offer free consultations for Drug Crime.


 If you need an attorney, find one right now.

Copied to clipboard

Find a Lawyer

More Options