Skip to main content
Find a Lawyer
Please enter a legal issue and/or a location
Begin typing to search, use arrow keys to navigate, use enter to select

Suspended License Reinstatement by State

Your driver’s license can be suspended for a number of reasons: bad driving, too many traffic tickets, failing to report an accident as required by law, or not paying your court-ordered child support. One of the more serious triggers for a license suspension is a driving under the influence (DUI) conviction. Most people need their vehicles to get to work, drive the kids to school, or make it to important medical appointments. Or perhaps just to have the freedom a car allows you.

But what happens when that privilege is taken away? Most of the time, if you follow certain requirements, you’ll be able to get your driving privileges restored, but only after following all court orders, paying all fees, and even installing an ignition interlock device (IID) in some cases. It’s not a "said and done" proposition, however.

Suspended License Reinstatement by State: Overview

Below, you will find key information on suspended license reinstatement laws by state. Keep in mind, reinstatement fees and requirements are subject to change in each state with the passage of new legislation. You may wish to speak with a local attorney to learn more about your specific situation.


Procedure/Ignition Interlock Required

Reinstatement Fee

Penalty for Driving on a Suspended License


Ala. Code § 32-1-1.1

After your suspension or revocation period has ended, you must apply to the Director of Public Safety for reinstatement and pay fees to get your license back.

  • Suspended - $275
  • Revoked - $275
  • Additional drug-related fee - $25
  • Interlock Issuance Fee - $150
  • Ala. Code § 32-6-19, misdemeanor, fine ranging from $100-$500 and up to 180 days in jail, probation


Alaska Stat. § 28.15.211 et. seq.

Serve your suspension or revocation period completely, then you can apply for a new license at the Alaska DMV:

  1. Submit an Application for Alaska Driver License, Permit or Identification Card
  2. Pass the written, vision, and road tests
  3. Submit proof of SR-22 insurance
  4. Present proof of birth
  5. Show completion of Alcohol Safety Action Plan (ASAP)
  6. Proof of installation of Ignition Interlock Device
  7. Pay all required fees
  • Reinstatement fees vary, but typically it will cost a minimum of $200 for first-time DUI, and $500 for subsequent DUI convictions
  • Alaska Stat. § 28.15.291, Class A misdemeanor, minimum community service requirement and up to one year in jail and a fine of up to $1,000


Ariz. Rev. Stat. § 28-3315(B)

  • Satisfy any court requirements and fines
  • Provide all court clearance documents and proof of future financial responsibility
  • Pay all fines and reinstatement fees


Ark. Code § 27-16-206(b):
  • 150 reinstatement fee
  • Ark. Code § 27-16-303
  • Misdemeanor, two days- six months jail; maximum fine $500, possible extended license suspension


VC § 13101:

  • Fulfill your mandatory suspension period
  • Pay the driver's license reissue fee to the DMV
  • Complete a DUI program and submit a Notice of Completion Certificate (Form DL-101)
  • Submit proof of your insurance or financial responsibility


Colo. Rev. Stat. § 42-2-132:

Take all required tests

  • $95
  • §42-2-138, misdemeanor: up to six months jail; up to $500 fine; license suspension increased by one year


Conn. Gen. Stat. § 14-50b
  • Serve your full suspension
  • Submit application for reinstatement
  • Submit reinstatement fee
  • $175
  • §14-215, misdemeanor, up to three months jail, $150-$200 fine, or both


Del. Code tit. 21 § 2737:
  • Apply to the Division of Motor Vehicles
  • Pay all fines and fees
  • File SR-22
  • May be required to take driving exam
  • Must install IID
  • Must complete alcohol education program
  • $50 (suspended license)
  • $200 (revoked license)

District of Columbia

D.C. Mun. Regs. tit. 18, §306;

  • $95
  • §50–1403.01, misdemeanor, up to one year in jail, fine up to $1,000


Fla. Stat. § 322.21(8):

  • Provide proof of enrollment or completion of a DUI course to the FLHSMV
  • Provide proof of bodily injury liability insurance (FR-44)
  • Pay all fines and fees
  • Install IID in some situations
  • $45 (suspended license)
  • $75 + new license application fee (revoked license)


§ 40-5-121:
  • $210-$200
  • Georgia Code § 40-5-58, misdemeanor, 2 days to 12 months in jail, and/or fine $500 to $1,000, possible longer license suspension


Haw. Rev. Stat. § 291E-62(b)(1)

  • Pay a restoration fee to the Driver License Division (any four counties of Honolulu, Hawaii, Maui, or Kauai)
  • Apply for a standard license renewal to obtain a new license
  • Fees vary by county, generally a $20 reinstatement fee, a Knowledge test and Road skills fee, and a license fee


Idaho Code § 49-328(2)

  • $25 reinstatement fee, possible $60 for DUI-related restatement
  • Other DUI-related fees may apply
  • Idaho Code § 18-8001(1), misdemeanor, two-six months in jail, fine up to $1,000, and additional 180 days license suspension


625 Ill. Comp. Stat. § 6-118(b)
  • $70 to $500 depending on nature of suspension/revocation


Ind. Code § 9-29-10-1(a):


  • Fees vary based upon offense


Iowa Code § 321.191(8):

  • Pay $200 civil penalty to DOT
  • Presents proof of completion of a course for drinking drivers
  • Presents proof of completion of a substance abuse evaluation and treatment or rehabilitation service
  • Comply with financial responsibility law
  • Install IID
  • Iowa Code § 321J.21, serious misdemeanor, up to a year in jail, a $1,000 fine, and an extension of your license suspension or revocation


Kan. Stat. § 8-241(a):

  • $100 to $1,000 (depending on the number of offenses you've had)
  • Kan. Stat. § 8-262(a)(1), class B nonperson misdemeanor, up to six months jail, fine up to $1,000, longer license suspension


Ky. Rev. Stat. § 186.440(13):
  • Attend a state-approved alcohol education or treatment program
  • Pay reinstatement fee
  • $40


La. Rev. Stat. § 32:414(I):

  • $100, $200 or $300


Me. Rev. Stat. tit. 29-A § 2486:

  • Satisfy your court requirements
  • Submit a SR22 or proof of insurance with the ME BMV
  • Complete an alcohol education program
  • Retake the driving knowledge and skills tests.
  • Pay the reinstatement fee
  • $100


Md. Code, Transp. § 16-209:


Mass. Gen. laws ch. 90, § 33(36):

  • Pay all fines and fees
  • Apply for a new license and take and pass all tests
  • See an see an RMV Hearings Officer
  • Between $700 to $1,200


Mich. Comp. Laws § 257.320e:

  • $85-$125, depending on circumstances


Minn. Stat. § 171.20:

  • $20 (suspended license)
  • $680 (revoked license)


Miss. Code § 63-1-46(1):

  • Complete an alcohol safety education program, if applicable.
  • Satisfy any court requirements and pay any fines
  • Pay reinstatement fees
  • Approximately $175


Mo. Rev. Stat. § 302.281(4):

  • Pay reinstatement fee
  • Substance Abuse Traffic Offenders Program (SATOP)
  • Install Ignition Interlock Device
  • File and maintain proof of liability insurance for two years from the starting date of your suspension or revocation
  • Retake the complete driver exam (if necessary)
  • Fees range from $20-$1,500 depending on reason for suspension


Mont. Code. Ann. § 61-5-218 (1)

  • Pay all fines and fees
  • Provide proof of insurance
  • Complete court-ordered treatment programs
  • Install interlock device
  • Apply for new license and take exam
  • $100 to $200


Neb. Rev. Stat. § 60-4,100.01:

  • Complete a driver's education/improvement course
  • Provide proof of insurance
  • Retake and pass the driving skills and knowledge tests, if necessary.
  • Pay a reinstatement fee and all fines and other fees
  • Between $50-$100


Nev. Rev. Stat. § 483.410:

  • Satisfy court requirements
  • File an SR22 or proof of insurance
  • Pass a vision test, the written driving knowledge test, and driving test in some cases
  • Install an ignition interlock device
  • Pay a reinstatement fee
  • Varies, approximately $125

New Hampshire

N.H. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 263:42(V):

  • $100
  • Minimum seven days jail
  • Fine of up to $1,000
  • License revocation for an additional year

New Jersey

N.J. Stat. § 39:3-10a:
  • $100 depending on surcharges
  • N.J. Stat. § 39:3-40
  • $1000 fine
  • Driver's license suspension and revocation of registration between 12 to 30 months
  • Jail between 10 days to 90 days

New Mexico

N.M. Stat. § 66-5-33.1:

  • Fees vary

New York

N.Y. Veh. & Traf. Law § 503
  • Between $50-$100

North Carolina

N.C. Gen. Stat. § 20-7:
  • Pay reinstatement fee
  • Apply for new license
  • Complete all other DMV or court-ordered requirements
  • Approximately $130

North Dakota

N.D. Cent. Code § 39-06-36:

  • Approximately $100


Ohio Rev. Code § 4510.038:


Okla. Stat. tit. 47, § 6-212:

  • $350


Or. Rev. Stat. § 807.370(23-24:

  • $75


75 Pa. Cons. Stat. § 1960:

  • Fee depends on a number of factors, see PA DOT website to learn more

Rhode Island

R.I. Gen. Laws § 31-11-10:

  • $350
  • Minimum 10-days in jail
  • Additional license suspension

South Carolina

S.C. Code § 56-1-390:

  • $100
  • Between 10 and 30 days in jail

South Dakota

S.D. Codified Laws § 32-12-47.1:

  • $50-$200


Check website for your specific requirements. Requirements will not be given over the phone.

  • Reinstatement fees vary, see website or visit a Reinstatement Center
  • Tenn. Code. § 55-50-504(a)(1)
  • Between 45 days and 1 year in jail
  • Maximum $3,000 fine


Texas Transp. Code Ann. § 521.313:

  • Your certified occupational license petition and court order
  • Provide a Financial Responsibility Insurance Certificate (SR22) from your insurance company.
  • Any required suspension documents.
  • Pay all reinstatement fees including occupational license fee
  • Complete a 12-hour Alcohol Education Program
  • Up to $2,000 fine
  • Up to 180 days in jail


Utah Code § 53-3-105(23)(b)

  • Defensive driving courses
  • Provide proof of auto insurance
  • Apply for a new license and take any related tests
  • Paying all fines and fees
  • $170, plus additional $65


Vt. Stat. tit. 23, § 675(a):

  • Submit an SR22, proof of car insurance
  • Retake and pass the driving skills and knowledge tests
  • Satisfy any court requirements
  • Pay a reinstatement fee
  • $73


Va. Code § 46.2-411(C):

  • $100
  • Up to $2,500 fine
  • Vehicle impoundment
  • Additional license suspension
Note: Check back for updates to the law based upon a lawsuit filed against the Virginia DMV


Wash. Rev. Code § 46.20.311(1)(e)(ii):

  • Satisfy your court requirements
  • Pay all fees including reinstatement fee
  • Maintain proof of insurance for at least 3 years from your reinstatement with an SR22 from your insurance company, a deposit with the WA State Treasurer, or a security bond.
  • $150

West Virginia

W. Va. Code § 17B-3-9:

  • $50, but additional fees may apply
  • Additional license suspension


Wis. Stat. § 343.21(1)(jr):
  • Requirements vary and are case-specific
  • Check your reinstatement eligibility and requirements here
  • Up to $140


Wyo. Stat. § 31-7-127(c):

  • Satisfy all court-ordered requirements.
  • Obtain SR-22 auto insurance
  • Pay the required reinstatement fee
  • $50

Note: State laws are always subject to change, usually through the enactment of new legislation but also through court decisions and other means. Contact an attorney or conduct your own legal research to verify the state law(s) you are researching.

Get Your Suspended License Reinstated With a Lawyer's Help

If you’ve been charged with a suspended license violation, you’ll need solid legal advice to help get you through the ordeal. This is particularly true if your suspension is based on a DUI. The good news is that there are legal advocates in your area who can guide you on the law and procedures you must follow. Start the process today by meeting with a DUI attorney near you.

Was this helpful?

You Don’t Have To Solve This on Your Own – Get a Lawyer’s Help

Meeting with a lawyer can help you understand your options and how to best protect your rights. Visit our attorney directory to find a lawyer near you who can help.

Or contact an attorney near you:

Next Steps

Contact a qualified DUI attorney to make sure your rights are protected.

Begin typing to search, use arrow keys to navigate, use enter to select

Help Me Find a Do-It-Yourself Solution

Can I Solve This on My Own or Do I Need an Attorney?

  • Complex DUI situations usually require a lawyer
  • DUI defense attorneys can challenge Breathalyzer/Intoxilyzer or blood test results
  • A lawyer can seek to reduce or eliminate DUI penalties
  • A lawyer can help get your license back

Get tailored advice and ask your legal questions. Many attorneys offer free consultations.


 If you need an attorney, find one right now.

DUI Laws & Resources

Copied to clipboard

Find a Lawyer

More Options