Skip to main content

Are you a legal professional? Visit our professional site

Please enter a legal issue and/or a location
Begin typing to search, use arrow keys to navigate, use enter to select

Alaska Car Accident Compensation Laws

Car accidents are common across the country, and Alaska is certainly no exception for car wrecks in daily life. Both minor fender benders and severe accidents happen every day on Alaska roads like Dalton Highway. If you have unfortunately been injured by someone else's reckless driving, discover your rights under Alaska car accident compensation laws to recover damages.

Car Accident Damages Caps in Alaska

There are two types of damages: (1) economic damages and (2) non-economic damages. The most common economic damages are medical bills, however, there are several other types of damages as well. Use FindLaw's damages estimate worksheet to ensure no other damages are overlooked in your case.

Damages caps are laws that limit the amount of damages you can recover. Damages caps usually apply to non-economic damages such as emotional distress and pain and suffering. Here is the list of damages caps stated in Alaska Statutes:

Statute of Limitations 2 yrs. for personal injuries [§09.10.070 ]
Non-economic Damages Cap $400,000 or the injured person's life expectancy in years multiplied by $8,000, whichever is greater [§09.17.010(b) ]
Non-economic Damages Cap for Severe Permanent Physical Impairment or Severe Disfigurement $1,000,000 or the person's life expectancy in years multiplied by $25,000, whichever is greater [§09.17.010(c) ]
Punitive Damages Cap $1,000,000 or the person's life expectancy in years multiplied by $25,000, whichever is greater [§09.17.010(c) ]

Note: State laws are revised regularly. Therefore, you should contact an attorney or conduct your own legal research to confirm the currentness of these laws.

"Pure" Comparative Negligence Standard in Alaska

If you were partly at fault for your own injuries, the amount of damages you can recover may reduce by a percentage of your fault. In Alaska, the pure comparative negligence rule allows you to recover damages even if you were 99% at fault. In that case, you would be still able to recover 1% of the damages.

For example, at trial, the jury determines that the total amount of damages is $100,000. You were 90% at fault, and the opponent was 10% at fault. In most other states, you won't be able to recover any damages because you were more at fault. However, in Alaska, the pure comparative negligence rule allows you to recover 10% of $100,000, which is $10,000.

Contact an Experienced Alaska Attorney for Help with Car Accident Issues

Even if you were at fault for your own injuries, you may be entitled to compensation in a car accident case. Personal injury is a complicated field of law and a legal process for car accident cases can be overwhelming. Contact an Alaska personal injury lawyer to get started with your case.

You Don’t Have To Solve This on Your Own – Get a Lawyer’s Help

Meeting with a lawyer can help you understand your options and how to best protect your rights. Visit our attorney directory to find a lawyer near you who can help.

Or contact an attorney near you:

Next Steps: Search for a Local Attorney

Contact a qualified attorney.

Begin typing to search, use arrow keys to navigate, use enter to select
Copied to clipboard

Find a Lawyer

More Options