Louisiana Overtime Laws
By FindLaw Staff | Legally reviewed by Chris Meyers, Esq. | Last reviewed November 29, 2022
This article has been written and reviewed for legal accuracy, clarity, and style by FindLaw’s team of legal writers and attorneys and in accordance with our editorial standards.
The last updated date refers to the last time this article was reviewed by FindLaw or one of our contributing authors. We make every effort to keep our articles updated. For information regarding a specific legal issue affecting you, please contact an attorney in your area.
Similar to several other states, Louisiana does not have a specific statute covering overtime laws. Thus, Louisiana applies the Fair Labor and Standards Act (FLSA) for its overtime laws: a set of federal laws that force employers to pay workers 1.5 times their ordinary pay rate for any time spent laboring over 40 hours in one week.
Louisiana Overtime Law Summary
Critical aspects of Louisiana overtime law are covered by this below chart.
State and Federal Statutes
Overtime Calculation Methods
Exempt from FLSA
Note: State laws are always subject to change through the passage of new legislation, rulings in the higher courts (including federal decisions), ballot initiatives, and other means. While we strive to provide the most current information available, please consult an attorney or conduct your own legal research to verify the state law(s) you are researching.
Attempts to Circumvent Louisiana Overtime Laws
Sometimes, an employer may try to get around federal overtime law in Louisiana by telling an employee that they are "salaried," pay them 40 hours worth of minimum wage in one lump sum, and then argue that by doing so, the employee isn't owed overtime. However, this is illegal under the federal overtime laws followed in Louisiana. Even though salaried employees should not get paid overtime, only professional workers with specialized skills or knowledge, sales employees, executives, and administrative employees count as being exempt from federal overtime laws. In other words, these professions are not likely jobs that get paid minimum wage.
Exemptions from Overtime in Louisiana
Under federal law, the occupations or employees that are exempt from overtime laws include:
- Sales or retail employees
- Administrative employees
- Professionals who require special skills and knowledge and who are paid a salary
- Executives of companies
- Farm laborers
- Transportation industry workers such as taxi drivers or flight attendants
Research the Law
- Official State Codes
- Louisiana State Laws
- Louisiana Employment Laws
- State Minimum Wage & Overtime Laws
Denied Overtime Pay in Louisiana? Get Legal Help Today
Being denied what you're owed is frustrating, stressful, and in violation of labor laws. Even though Louisiana follows the FLSA, the state can still have some complications with its overtime laws that may be hard to discover. If you wish to learn more details about Louisiana overtime laws, or the specifics of your case, you may want to speak with a local employment attorney.
You Don’t Have To Solve This on Your Own – Get a Lawyer’s Help
Meeting with a lawyer can help you understand your options and how to best protect your rights. Visit our attorney directory to find a lawyer near you who can help.
Next Steps: Search for a Local Attorney
Contact a qualified attorney.