Maine Domestic Violence Laws
Created by FindLaw's team of legal writers and editors | Last reviewed June 20, 2016
This article has been written and reviewed for legal accuracy, clarity, and style by FindLaw’s team of legal writers and attorneys and in accordance with our editorial standards.
The last updated date refers to the last time this article was reviewed by FindLaw or one of our contributing authors. We make every effort to keep our articles updated. For information regarding a specific legal issue affecting you, please contact an attorney in your area.
Domestic violence occurs when an offender assaults a family or household member. In Maine, domestic violence is called "domestic violence assault" and can only occur between:
- Spouses (current or former)
- Domestic partners (current or former)
- Individuals presently or formerly living together
- Natural parents of the same child
- Adult household members related by blood
- Minor children living in the same house as the adult offender, or
- Individuals who are or were sexual partners
The table below provides a brief overview of Maine's domestic violence law.
|Maine Revised Statutes 17-A section 207-A: Domestic Violence Assault|
Assaulting a family or household member.
|A person is guilty of assault if:
Domestic violence assault is generally a Class D crime that is punishable by up to 364 days in jail, and/or a fine of up to $2,000.
However, domestic violence assault is a Class C crime and is punishable by up to five years in jail, and/or a fine of up to $5,000 if at the time of the offense the offender has one or more prior convictions for:
Related Domestic Violence Crimes
Domestic violence criminal threatening (section 209-A): Intentionally or knowingly placing a family or household member in fear of imminent bodily injury.
Domestic violence terrorizing (section 210-B): Communicating to a family or household member a threat to commit a crime of violence dangerous to human life, against the person to whom the communication is made or against another, whether or not the threat is in fact carried out.
Domestic violence stalking (section 210-C): Intentionally or knowingly engaging in a course of conduct directed at or concerning a family or household member that would cause a reasonable person to:
- Suffer serious inconvenience or emotional distress
- Fear death or to fear the death of a close relation
- Fear damage or destruction to or tampering with property, or
- Fear injury to or the death of an animal owned by or in the possession and control of that specific person
Domestic violence reckless conduct (section 211-A): Recklessly creating a substantial risk of serious bodily injury to a family or household member.
- How to Stop Domestic Violence
- Filing a Domestic Violence Lawsuit
- Orders of Protection and Restraining Orders
State laws change frequently. For case specific information regarding Maine's domestic violence laws contact a local criminal defense lawyer.
If you are a domestic violence survivor there is help available to you. During an emergency dial 911 and when you're safe contact the Maine Coalition to End Domestic Violence.
You Don’t Have To Solve This on Your Own – Get a Lawyer’s Help
Meeting with a lawyer can help you understand your options and how to best protect your rights. Visit our attorney directory to find a lawyer near you who can help.
Next Steps: Search for a Local Attorney
Contact a qualified attorney.