Nevada Adoption Laws
https://www.findlaw.com/state/family-laws/adoption.htmlState laws govern the adoption process. Adoption laws vary from one state to the next. If you're adopting or considering adoption in the state of Nevada, continue reading to learn more about this state's adoption laws and adoption process.
Types of Adoptions in Nevada
Nevada law allows for many different types of adoptions. The most common adoptions are infant adoptions, state and court ward adoptions, relative adoptions, step-parent adoptions, international and interstate adoptions, and adult adoptions.
What Is A State Or Court Ward Adoption?
When parental rights have been terminated by the family court, the child is committed to the state or is placed under the care and supervision of the state. If a child is committed to the state, they become what is known as a "state ward." If they are placed under the care and supervision of the state, they become what is known as a "court ward."
The Nevada Department of Health and Human Services (DHS) is responsible for the adoptive placement of state wards and court wards. These children are placed by DHS and by child-placing agencies that are under contract with the state.
Most of the children fall into the following groups:
- Minority children
- Older children
- Children with physical, emotional or mental impairments
- Sibling groups of two or more children
Nevada Adoption Laws
Under Nevada adoption laws, anyone can be adopted. However, children 14 years of age and older may not be adopted unless they give their own consent. Also, state law requires that the party seeking the adoption have resided within the state for no less than six months prior to the adoption.
How Much Does It Cost To Adopt A Child In Nevada?
Adoption costs and fees vary. Some private adoption agencies will require a home assessment fee. Be sure to speak with an adoption attorney or to ask the agencies you contact if they have any upfront fees.
Some of the main highlights of Nevada adoption laws are listed in the box below. Explore FindLaw's Adoption section for additional articles and resources.
|Who May Be Adopted||Any person, but when the person to be adopted is an adult, the consent of that adult is required|
|Age that Child's Consent Needed||14 years of age and older|
|Who May Adopt||
|Home Residency Required Prior to Finalization of Adoption?||Six months|
|Statute of Limitations to Challenge||Not specified|
Note: State laws are constantly changing. So, you might want to contact a Nevada adoption attorney or conduct your own legal research to verify relevant state laws.
At official state codes, you will find links to all the relevant statutes within every state, including the District of Columbia. Consider reviewing this linked resource as part of any research you may conduct to verify relevant state laws.
Related Resources for Adoption Laws:
If you're still confused, consider reviewing the following resources, as well:
Need the Help of an Attorney? Contact One Today!
Any adoption process can be confusing. As much paperwork and as many laws as there are of which you need to be aware, it might be helpful to contact a qualified adoption law attorney near you. They can assist in all aspects of any adoption process.
You Don’t Have To Solve This on Your Own – Get a Lawyer’s Help
Meeting with a lawyer can help you understand your options and how to best protect your rights. Visit our attorney directory to find a lawyer near you who can help.
Next Steps: Search for a Local Attorney
Contact a qualified attorney.