While driving around in the Big Apple did you all of a sudden get into a hit-and-run? If you did, you may have to file a car crash report in New York under the state's laws. You must file a report of any motor vehicle accident with the New York Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) if: (1) the accident resulted in property damage of $1001 or more or (2) a person is injured or killed. Also, you have to file a car accident report with the DMV no later than 10 days after the accident, or else the DMV can suspend your driver's license.
It's important to understand the car accident reporting requirements under New York law before you get in a car accident.
New York Car Accident Report Overview
Details on how to file a car crash report in New York and other key provisions of car accident reporting in New York are listed below.
New York Vehicle and Traffic Code § 605
When to Report:
If you are involved in a vehicle accident that occurred in New York, you must report it to the DMV if:
- There was property damage of $1001 or more
- Anyone was injured or killed
How to File a Car Crash Report in New York:
To file a car crash report in California with the DMV, you, your insurance agent, or your legal representative must complete the Report of Motor Vehicle Accident (Form MV-104). In order to fill out form MV-104 you will need to gather or supply the following information:
- Place and time of accident
- Both driver's name, address, and date of birth
- Both driver's driver license information (State of license, license number)
- Both driver's license plate number and state
- The name and address of all policy holders and the name of their insurance
- The name and address of all registered vehicle owners of vehicles involved in the accident
- An explanation of the damage to any vehicles
- An accident diagram, including selecting what type of turn was made
Note: State laws are always subject to change through the passage of new legislation, rulings in the higher courts (including federal decisions), ballot initiatives, and other means. While we strive to provide the most current information available, please consult an attorney or conduct your own legal research to verify the state law(s) you are researching.
Exceptions to New York Car Accident Reporting Requirements
If the accident resulted in just property damage in the amount of $1000 or less, then the drivers need only exchange driver license, automobile insurance, and registration information with one another. In other words, no car accident reporting is required in this case.
Furthermore, if a parked car, other property or domestic animal is injured, you are required to locate the owner and contact the local police. However, you are not required to file a car crash report in New York in these instances.
Fleeing the Scene of an Accident if Death or Injury Occurs
If the accident results in death or injury, then New York law requires the police to be notified. In addition, all the involved drivers and the police must file accident reports with the DMV. It is also a crime under New York law to leave the scene of an accident that causes personal injury or death.
Research the Law
Get Professional Legal Help Filing a Car Crash Report in New York
Still unsure of whether you should report your accident to the DMV or what else needs to be done to file a car crash report in New York? States have specific requirements that, if ignored, can cause you additional grief. Make sure your bases are covered; contact a New York personal injury attorney today.